'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

There are several issues with the argument in the statement some of which is discussed here. The business manager states that the complaints received where related to the coverage of weather and local news. There is no information available on the contents of these complaints, therefore, there is a good possibility that people are complaining about the poor quality of the local news and weather coverage rather than their length. If only an insight was given on the contents of these complaints the argument could be strengthened.

It is mentioned by the business manager that local businesses have canceled their advertising contacts. There is no information available on why they have done so and the business manager has related this to the decrease in length of the local news. This argument is weakly supported since there is no evidence provided by the business manager. The local businesses could have canceled their advertisements because of poor coverage of the local news since local viewers, who are their customers, were no more interested in this television station.

On the other hand, it is mentioned that the programme is a late night news programme. It is highly unlikely for a person to be interested in the weather forecast at that time. They are usually interested to know about the weather early morning rather than late night. There is also no reference to when the news programme is aired, hence it might be aired at a very late time and people are complaining about the time of the programme.

We should also consider the fact that the decrease in advertisement contracts and audience could be related to the activities of a rival television station, which airs much more interesting programmes during the late-night news programme. People might be more interested in a drama series at late time of the day instead of the news. As a result, all problems at hand cannot be attributed to the length of the weather and local news coverage.

In conclusion, more information and evidence is required to come to the conclusions stated. For example, the stations can conduct a survey to know what genre of programmes viewers are more interested to watch and at what time. They can provide more information about the complaints received and act accordingly to satisfy their viewers. The TV station can also look for national businesses interested in advertising through them since they are covering the national news as well.