The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of video rental stores.

“In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the argument statement it is suggested that in order to alter the decline in revenues the movie rental stores reduce their maintenance costs by reducing their stocks and operating hours based on the results stemmed from implementation of a similar strategy in one of their chain stores located in downtown Marston. Although the evidence provided to strengthen their argument seems valid, there are serious flaws which would be discussed here.

it is stated that raising rental prices is against the chain store’s moto of always providing the best movie rental price, this is understandable but raising the rental prices is not the only way of increasing revenues. it is possible to expand the chain store’s target market by introducing new products such as renting and selling music or entering the online market by setting up a commercial website to promote their services. By entering new markets and expanding the current market and attracting new customers, as a result, their revenue would increase significantly.

The other claim by the statement is that cutting the maintenance costs through decreasing the working hours and reducing the stocks and further states that the strategy was successful in Marston. it is possible that there are not many customers in Marston and consequently the stores does not need to operate at late hours, however, this could not be true for other stores as they may be located at a more populous location. To make the argument stronger, more information on demographics of other stores’ area could be provided to better understand their situation and devise a strategy for.

The idea of reducing the stocks of old movies could easily backfire simply because people are less willing to buy old movies and more content with renting them. movie Galore should provide more information about their sales in order to manage their stocks. To elucidate, they can analyse their sales or even conduct surveys on their customers to better understand their sales. For example, they may figure out that recent movies are sold more than older ones but rented by fewer people. The chain store can also setup their commercial website and conduct part of their sales online, thus reducing the need of stocking movies in stores as they will be available online.

All in all, the strategy proposed by the chain store may not produce the desired results since the claim and evidences provided are weakly supported. To better support their argument they should provide more information through conducting surveys. also they can enter new markets or expand the current one by entering the online market which as a result will increase their revenues.