Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The arguments and claims provided by the advertising director of the company are weakly supported and there are flaws and questions which should be answered before allocating a greater budget to advertisement.

The memo states that fewer people have attended the movies by Super Screen and percentage of positive reviews has increase during the past year. One may think that this is because of decrease in total population of movie goers and cannot be directly associated to the quality of the movies or any improvements in the quality of the movies. For example, it is possible that the reviewers are still watching movies made by this company and still reviewing them and their numbers have not decreased during the previous year, whereas their percentage has increased as less people watched their movies.

One question is that how does the production company knows that the contents of the reviews are not reaching general public? If the company could provided more information here such as results of a survey, conducted on the audience, it could be much more useful in understanding whether people are aware of the reviews and the quality of the movies or not. Also, other production companies might have released blockbusters during the previous year which were more interesting and attracted many of the movie goers making the competition sour for the Super Screen Movie Production Company, who might have just gone through a bad year in productions, thus explains their poor performance in the box office.

It is also stated by the memo that problem does not lie within the quality of the movies produces. The production company should consider that there is no evidence provided to strengthen this claim by the advertising director's. They should start asking the movie goers about the quality of their movies rather than focusing on movie reviewers only. Maybe, the critics who review these specific movies are content with them while the general public do not like the general quality of the movies produced or are not interested in those specific movies reviewed by critics, thus they are becoming less interested in this company's productions. It could be more useful if it was known which movies where reviewed by critics and if people's opinion is inline with critics or not.

All in all, the decision made by the advertising director is rash one and the evidence provided is inadequate, consequently, their argument is a weak one. They should start collecting insightful information about their customers and analyse it throughly.