Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The author of the above arguments has asserted that since the number of attendees of super-screen movies has decreased during the last year while critics have released good reviews about specific super-screen, so with increasing the amount of advertising, the production company will attract wider watchers. While this deduction might seems flawless at the first glance, it suffers from serious loopholes which will be discussed here.

One the one hand, if we accept that super-screen movies are of high-quality just because of the good reviews of critics, the word "specific" in the argument would make us dubious. Be that as it may, One can easily figure out that just by alluding that the "specific" number of super-screen movies have been praised, we can not deem all of them of high-quality.

One the other hand, we are said nothing regarding the number of critics who have praised the super-screen movies or even about the percentage of decrease in the viewers of super-screen movies. Maybe just four fifteen number of watchers have been dwindled while two-hundred critics have acclaimed the quality of the movies. Therefore, the exact ratio of the non-viewers to the numbers of critics must be defined for reaching an untenabe conclusion.

Furthermore, the author of the memo have ignored the real objective of critics in this conclusion. we are not told anything about their goals. Maybe, for example, they just have acclaimed the movies just to be received bribery. Hence, concluding in this manner does not seem rational.

It is also noteworthy that there is a question mark hanging over the role of advertising for attracting wider audiences. Is the movie production company positive about the advertising? Maybe some other contributing factors have had an adverse effect on the decreased number of super screen movies. For example, a factor such as watchers tastes or preferences toward super screen movies have led to dwindling number of patrons of this category of movies.

To recapitulate, it is seems advisable to infer that while conclusion of the marketing manager seems fit at the first glance, it has some serious shortcomings which must be reconsidered to arrive at more warranted and sensible deduction.