"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

The author concludes that a greater share of budget needs to be allocated by the management of the Super Screen Movie Production Company for its movies so that they can be advertised to bring a larger crowd to watch these good quality movies. To justify this conclusion the author notes that the the number of movie-goers going to the Super Screen-produced movies has the reduced the past year as compared to the other years and still the movies have had an increase in the number of positive reviews.This argument is logically unconvincing in several respects.

First, part of the conclusion that the advertising will increase the number of people watching the movie, assumes the questionable assumption that the movies are really good in the first place and they will appeal to a larger audience.Usually, movies are reviewed and watched based on the demographic that they serve and not all movies will be everyone's cup of tea.It is entirely possible that here in this case the movies are watched by people who just want to support the particular actor or director and are leaving good reviews to encourage them.The quality of the movies depends on various variables and the argument does not state how many reviews were taken from the average viewer and how many from established critics.The review from hardcore fans of the actor or the other members involved does not produce a very disinterested review on the quality.Hence, the author's generalization is unreliable.

Second the author assumes that the decrease in the number of people watching is only because of the limitations in the advertising.This assumption is unwarranted.It is equally possible that the movies are being released only in a limited number theatres as compared to the other years.Also the amount or percentage of the decrease while compared to rest of the years is not clearly mentioned.Hence, it is presumptuous to conclude that advertising alone can increase the population as the theatres also matter.

Finally the author also says that the quality of the movies is good by taking into account the positive reviews received but even if the quality of the movies are good , other things like the ticket prices also come into the picture.If the ticket prices were exorbitantly higher this past year as compared to the rest of the years then, this could be a very valid cause for the dip in the number people going to the theatres.This also could mean that only hardcore fans of these movies went despite the high prices.

In sum, the argument is defective mainly because the reduction in the number of people going the Super Screen-produced movies but increase in the good reviews does not provide support to the conclusion that by spending more of the budget on the advertising will surely attract more people to the movie screenings.To strengthen this argument, the author must, at the very least provide support to the assumptions stated above.