The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author concludes that the illegal immigrants pose severe threats, so they need to returned to their country of origin at all costs. To justify this conclusion, the author takes note of the autonomy of any country depends on the strength of its borders. I find this argument logically unconvincing in several respects.

First of all, illegal immigrants pose threats to the country, is based upon the assumption that the economy depends on only the amount or percentage of immigrants flooding the country. It is entirely possible that the economy depend on other factors like the population, the resources available in that particular country and many other factors.Hence the author's generalization is unreliable.

Second the author assumes that the national identity is endangered. This assumption is unwarranted. It seems equally reasonable to assume that the majority of the population in the country would still remain the indigenous population and the cultures and traditions of that particular country are in no danger of disappearing or becoming obsolete. Hence it is presumptuous to conclude that the illegal immigrants would pose a problem to the national identity.

Finally, the author uses wrong reversal flaw. It is when the argument that if one part of that sentence is true then the other half is also true. It assumes that if number of immigrants increase then the economy and national identity will also be endangered.

In sum, the argument is defective mainly because the autonomy of the country being based upon the strength of the borders does not support the conclusion that the illegal migrants need to be returned to their country. The argument would be stronger if the author had at the least provided support for the assumptions that the economy and the national identity will be in danger.