The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

The author concludes that if the new private vendor, Swift Nutrition is not replaced with another vendor then, there will be serious health related issues for the students of the Kensington Academy. To justify this the author notes the the cafeteria management in the Kensington academy has been turned over to a new private vendor, Swift Nutrition and the food being served their is not liked by the students and in turn they will start bringing their own, less healthy lunches.This argument is logically unconvincing in several respects.

First, the replacement of the vendor having an affect on the health of the students, is based on the questionable assumption that since the students will bring their own unhealthy lunches as they do not like the low-fat and low-calorie meals provided by Swift Nutrition.It is entirely possible that the parents of the students become aware of the fact that the students are not buying anything from the cafeteria and start packing healthy home cooked lunches for them.It is also not clear in the argument on what proportion of the students of the Academy favor to buy their lunches from the cafeteria or the number of students bringing food from home Hence, the author's generalization is unreliable.

Second the author assumes that the students at the Academy do not the meals provided at the cafeteria enjoyable.To justify this the author provides the example of their son and several of his friends not liking the meal options provided This assumption is unwarranted.It is equally possible that the other students expect for this small group of friends find this meal quite healthy and tasty.The data provided here to justify the inefficiency of the cafeteria is too small and vague such that actual numbers are not even mentioned to empirically justify the data.Hence it is presumptuous to conclude that there would be healthy consequences.

Finally, it can also be argued that the students not liking their lunch options in the cafeteria and the students having healthy problems later on because of that is held together by the flimsy the reason that the students will look for other options outside.There could be possibility that the menu of Swift might expand in the future for more tastier options which the students might like.

In sum, the argument is defective mainly because the that the students do not find the lunch enjoyable at the cafeteria does not support the conclusion that the if the vendor is not replaced there will be severe health problems in the Academy.To strengthen this argument, the author must, at the very least, provide support for the assumptions stated about how many students are presents such that they do not like the food and how many consume alternative unhealthy options.