Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The above argument involves a memo from the advertising director of a movie production company who claims that there has been a decrease in the number of people attending the movie due to lack of awareness and hence suggests that a greater share of its budget must be allocated for advertising. Although this seems to be an adequate proposal, however, it cannot be directly agreed upon that the lack of audience is solely limited to the shreds of evidence mentioned in the argument. The following paragraphs explain what all questions need to be answered before culminating that the increase in budget will lead to increase in the number of viewers.

To begin with, there needs to be a certainty that the reviewers of the Super Screen movies have a sound understanding of their opinions or have reviews that might be considerable to the audience. This is necessary because the reviewers may though have positive reviews such as the method employed for shooting or the serene location choice for the movie rather than the storyline of the movie and the acting of the protagonist which, in turn, do not prove to be a criterion to be considered by the audience. If so, even an increase in the budget will not be a fruitful decision in increasing the number of viewers. Hence, it must be ensured that reviews that interests the viewers are being reached out rather than humdrum ones or from apocryphal sources.

Secondly, it is essential to know that there were no other factors that were involved in reduction of viewers of the movie. It is possible that employment of immoral methods for shooting the movie or acts of cruelty or modifying the original history in a egregious way, if any involved, can reduce the number of potential audience as a sign of revolt. For example, if the movie producers involved killing of large amount of animals for development of storyline, there will definitely be a huge reduction in the number of viewers even if the storyline in itself had potential development. Hence, it is necessary to know that no other factors were involved that could contribute in decrease in the viewers.

Lastly, even if awareness for the movie is being increased, there needs to be a certainty that the viewers will be interested in attending the 'high-quality' movie. It is possible that the in bringing about a change in the production of movie, the producers employ unconventional or blatant story-lines that might not interest the viewers or rather ridicule them. Therefore, it is necessary to know that the movies are high-quality ones for a viewer too and not just the reviewers. Hence, unbiased opinions of viewers along with reviewers must be passed on to make sure that people are convinced that the movies are of superior quality.

Movies are the major source of amusement for people and it is necessary that proper measures of awareness must be taken to make people known about the developments in the movie industry. However, such a decision must be culminated only after thorough understanding of the causes of decline in viewers and hence, corresponding solutions to improve the issues must be employed.