"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The author of the argument tries to establish a direct correlation between late-night news coverage and the revenue generated by attracting more extensive range of viewers, leading to signing a contract with advertisers. Although that deduction might seem rational at the first glance, it suffers from serious loopholes which will be dicussed here.

One the one hand, regarding satisfaction of watchers, it seems nebulous that why there is no mention about the exact number of complaints to late-night news? Are they just one people, ten people or more? What about the number of viewers who are satisfied with watching news in the late night? At least the ratio of proponets of this policy to the opponents should have been allured. Without a precise statistical fact, no tenable inference is possible. Even if we accept that this situation can instigate more opponents, what if when they cover more local news in the night, it will not stimulate more vehement complaints from those who liked national news?

On the other hand, considering the time of late-night news coverage, one xcan easily figure out that the worst time for business advertisers is right in the late night as this time suffers from a serious drawback and is that the number of viewers in this time is at the lowest possible. Hence, it seems natural that advertisers are reluctant to promote their products during this time. So, the best time for advertisers to promote their activities is during the day when the number of viewers is at the pinnacle.

Accordingly, about the revenue gained by the television station, it can be said that the best time for the TV for generating money is when higher amounts of watchers are sitting in front of their televisions. So. there is no need to be worried about the lost profit caused by rescinded contracts as the TV station can easily use more day time to allocate more coverage of local news like weather which probably lead to more lucrative circumstances for television station.

Overall, while the deduction of the author seems rational at the first glance, it suffers from serious loopholes which render the final conclusion unwarranted.