Some people think that the fictional violence portrayed on TV is harmless entertainment Others disagree and think that it encourages bad behaviour Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Televised violence is a very debatable issue in our modern society. While many enjoy the unrealistic bloodshed and violence performed by stunts, many others believe that showing this amount of violence on TV or in the movies would encourage the same behaviours in society. Here both views are discussed in depth and the arguments would be supported with illustrations.

Quintin Tarantino, a dogmatic proponent of depicting violence, gore, and bloodshed in the movies, once said in an interview that the audience enjoys watching violence due to the fact that they are aware of it being unreal. Many other proponents of fictional violence also believe so and tend to enjoy violence on the media as they know it is not real and is professionally produced by the Hollywood experts to excite the audience to extreme extends. So, no violence is promoted as people know it is only there in the movies for the sole sake of entertainment.

Nowadays in cinema, directors and producers try to their best to make their audience produce more adrenaline and they use every mean necessary to get to this goal, as it increases their sales. Some believe that since the violence is commonly used in the media and even the video games people especially youngsters have become indifferent to it due to repeated exposure to fictional violence. As a result, the proponents believe showing violence is no more hazardous as the negative effects of it, if actually existed, have been watered down as they have become widespread and commonplace.

On the other hand, the opponents believe that people become greatly inspired by televised violence and bloodshed as they think that it is commonplace or it is being depicted as commonplace by the media. For example, years ago when Bruce Lee movies were shown in cinemas people especially the younger ones were inspired by him and his martial arts that they tried to imitate him some even going to great extents of enrolling on a martial arts class. The resulting outcome was an increase in violence at schools. Even there were cases that pupils tried to perform Bruce Lee’s moves on their peers at school.

Naysayers are convinced that children can be very inspired by what they see and usually do not possess the incisive mind to distinguish between fantasy and reality. Consequently, they are much more prone to being affected by the movies they see and the games they play. In many countries, there is an age restriction for media contents to keep children away from gore and violence present in movies and computer games; However, with the freedom and ease of access brought by the Internet we may not be able to keep children away from watching things that are not meant for them to watch. Thus, many believe that these restricted contents should have not been produced in the first place.

In conclusion, observation of fictional violence’s effects on human beings cannot be precisely measured and are highly debated among people, critics, and scientists. I believe fictional violence may not affect adults the way it influences children and we can’t totally ban it or restrict it. Nevertheless, we require much more restricted access control to these materials to keep youngsters away from their negative influence and let them grow up so that they become more able to separate fantasy from reality.