The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It is very important for a society to have abundant human resources in different sectors specially leadership. Society is responsible for nurturing and training human beings for various roles and give them the ability to develop certain social and technical skills such as leadership, which is a very important skill. Two methods suggested here both have their own merits and demerits.

When there is a competition among people they become more sensitive to stress and pressure, which is always present in competitors. Nowadays, it has become evident by researchers' endeavours that long-term stress can lead to various diseases such as cancer, which is a very serious one. There are also mental damages like developing the sense of malice in people by creating unhealthy competition which happens when people try to circumvent the competition to eliminate others. Therefore, competition or better say the idea of "the fittest will survive" can damage public health in long term.

In contrast, a cooperative environment can be very effective since, for example, top students cooperate with average ones giving them the opportunity to learn many new subjects and skills from their peers. To say more, colleagues in an office would also benefit from cooperation they manage to produce results with much less errors and much better accuracy and quality as everything is quality controlled by more than one person. when cooperating, people develop their social skills along other skills since there is a considerable amount of communication overhead.

On the other hand, the sense of competition enforces competitors to develop much better skills in a competitive atmosphere in much less time. For example, when students compete against one another to enter top graduate schools and colleges, the best students manage to get into top schools and in doing so they will gain a lot of knowledge and skills which may not be developed easily in a cooperative environment. However, in this method less social skills is developed since students are very likely to maximise their own gain rather than the greater good of a group and will become less cooperative with their peers in fear of giving them a competitive advantage.

In conclusion, it can be said that both methods have their own advantages and disadvantages making the decision of chosing one difficult and situation dependent.