The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

"Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The passage suggests that the decline in fitness level of Corpora’s citizens is a result of a recent decline in the economy. The passage claims that high level of ownership of computer devices has not affected fitness levels significantly, meaning the precedent study and findings made 20 years ago by scientists is flawed, however, the claims are weakly supported by evidence.

The passage claims that findings from 20 years ago are flawed, however, there is no evidence or details provided on how such a conclusion is made and based on what information. For example, they could have provided information on the levels of computer ownership so that a valid comparison could be made with Corpora’s citizen’s current fitness level. To complement it, they could have provided more data on the amount of time spent using computer devices. It is possible that many people own computers but do not use them frequently.

The passage states that the level of fitness is highest in regions where computer ownership is also highest and then concludes that owning computer devices does affect fitness level negatively. To weaken this argument, one can say that people who own computers are more likely to be more educated or in touch with up to date information on health and fitness, therefore, they have a higher level of awareness and are more considerate toward their health and well being. On the other hand, people without access to computing devices may not be able to access information related to health and well being.

The passage states that the decline in fitness levels is because of a recent decline in the economy. One may wonder what support is provided as an indicator of a decline in the economy such as income per capita, which could have been provided to prove that there existed a negative growth in the economy of Corpora. Generally speaking, not only has the economy of the world grown from 20 years ago but also due to the explosion of information people became more aware of fitness and its importance in their lives. Therefore, the fitness level of population has improved. In addition, a decline in the economy may not necessarily result in a decline in physical fitness. It should be noted that the costs of staying fit could also have decreased as well.

In conclusion, the argument provided is not strongly supported and questions stated should be answered in order to corroborate the argument. The article could have contained more information on economic metrics of the world during the past 20 years to sound more legit.