The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee-a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company seems axiomatic. The personnel director refers to examples of other companies and graduates that supposedly benefited from the course. Also, the personnel director contends that Acme Publishing Company will receive similar benefits after requiring the course to all of the company's employees. However, the argument is unsubstantiated because of several reasons.

First, the personnel director claims that since many companies have benefited greatly from the program, Acme will do so as well. Nevertheless, the author cites no evidence to support the claim; in fact, the author is falsely equating the conditions of other companies and Acme. What the personnel director fails to consider is, however, the type of reading provided in the course might not be the type of readings Acme employees engage in their working lives, thus not benefiting from the course. Also, Acme is a publishing company, which means, it is highly likely that its employees might already are excellent readers. If so, employees will not gain much from the course.

Second, the personnel director asserts that the course was accounted for two individuals' accomplishments. Nonetheless, it is entirely possible that those two were already outstanding readers, and equipped with appropriate skills even before taking the course. The graduate who was able to read a 500-page report in two hours might have been able to do so even before enrolling the course. Additionally, the author contends that the second individual's promotion is attributed to the course; in actuality, this might not be the case. The individual's promotion would have been owing to other factors such as sales abilities, managing skills, and administration skills. It is unfair to argue that the promotion was highly because of the program. Therefore, the author needs to provide more evidence to support the argument.

Third supposition the personnel director has is that the benefits Acme will acquire from the course will outweigh the cost of of the course. The author, nevertheless, fails to cite any evidence to that. In fact, productivity and working efficiency might drop significantly during the 3-week course, which might override the benefits of the program. Thereby, the author needs to conduct accurate cost-benefit analysis in order to bolster his or her claim.

All in all, because of deficiency in evidence the personnel director provided, the suggested recommendation is at best suspect. To strengthen the assertion, the personnel director needs to submit evidences regarding the exact benefits Acme employees will receive from the course after conducting intense research about Acme company and past success stories from the reading course.