Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people’s hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

It is debatable whether a lot of malaise in this day and age cannot be resolved by laws and the legal system because laws are not able to transform people's hearts and minds. However, although this claim seems axiomatic, laws and the legal system penetrates deeply into people's hearts contrary to the suggested perspective.

To begin with, laws often represent opinions of the entire nation, or mainstream thoughts. People's thoughts are prone to follow the revised, or newly added laws. Take discrimination issue as an example. Discrimination, especially the one against women was very severe in the past. Nevertheless, after the passing of nineteenth amendment that bestowed women's suffrage, perspectives on women's rights changed drastically. Because of the change of the law, which is regarded to have authority that represents the values of the nation, many people were enlightened, and women were more encouraged to fight for their rights. Additionally, recent passing of permitting gay marriage in the states have truly opened up people's minds and thought about LGBT community since the nation is openly accepting their rights. Therefore, laws and the legal system, with their authoritative power and influence, have immense impact on people's hearts and minds, which in this case aided in reducing discrimination problem of the United States.

Furthermore, laws and legal system that are practiced justly, can change people's hearts and minds, thus solving problems. Thoughts on laws are becoming more skeptical because they are often not practiced equally to everyone; in fact, a myriad of problems occur due to abuse of laws that include political fraudulence and laws being more generous to powerful people. Molesters receiving light punishments, people with power avoiding punishments by money, or manipulating evidence, and judges being bribed to make an unfair decision are all clear examples of legal system being exploited and abused, thereby resulting in not solving the problem. Nonetheless, if every law is applied same to every member of a society, people will not only rely on laws perfunctorily and functionally, but also emotionally as well. Healthy laws and system that practice laws can solve a lot of modern days problem by affecting people's hearts.

Admittedly, it is regarded that laws cannot heal wounds and change people's minds. However, lawyers and judges' wholehearted effort to make a just decision and chase after truth can condole people and transform people's maladaptive thoughts. All in all I disagree with the given statement because of aforementioned reasons. Laws can change people's minds because they exist to enlighten and maintain society's balance by resolving current problems and preventing future maladies.