The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase—and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author's argument that construction of new electric generating plants is not needed seems axiomatic. To support the claim, the author cites several recent surveys, newly released products and technologies, and past trend on demand on electricity. However, the author does not provide adequate evidences to effectively bolster his assertion.

To begin with, the author posits that indication of several recent surveys of home owners is reliable. There is no exact data of the date of the surveys and the duration of the surveys, which are crucial in examining relevance of the surveys to current situation. Also, it is not cited if participants of the surveys, home owners, are representative of the entire population. Without information regarding those aspects, the author's citation will remain unreliable.

Moreover, the author supposes that since home owners are willing to conserve energy, they will purchase energy efficient home appliances and take advantage of new technologies to conserve energy. First, even if home owners are eager, they just might try to reduce their energy consumption in other ways such as turning lights off or unplugging unused cords. Also, even if people do purchase those energy efficient appliances, total spent energy could still be greater than before even after the conservation of the energy. If then, those appliances surely reduced the rate of energy consumption, but still did not prevent increase of total amount of energy consumption.

Another assumption that the author of the memorandum makes is that the demand of home owners reflect the total demand. The author neglects the fact that there are other people consuming energy in the area. There are firms and plants that demand energy, and data of those consumption is not considered. Even if total energy consumption of home owners decrease, if energy consumption of other parts of the area overrides the decrease, thus increasing the total demand for electricity, the author's claim will not effectively predict the future situation.

Lastly, the author conjectures that the energy demand for the past twenty years will accurately reflect the energy demand present and future. Nonetheless, situations might have become different. There might be more houses, firms, and plants that demand more electricity which could shift the trend of past twenty years. Without providing information on the changes of the area, the author's claim will remain gratuitous.

All in all, the author's argument is not convincing. To strengthen the claim, the author needs to provide information on recent surveys, the exact evaluation of energy conservation through home appliances, demand of electricity of the entire area, and information of changes in the area that could affect the total amount of energy consumption.