The following appeared in a memorandum from the planning department of an electric power company.

"Several recent surveys indicate that home owners are increasingly eager to conserve energy. At the same time, manufacturers are now marketing many home appliances, such as refrigerators and air conditioners, that are almost twice as energy efficient as those sold a decade ago. Also, new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating are readily available to reduce the energy needed for home heating. Therefore, the total demand for electricity in our area will not increase — and may decline slightly. Since our three electric generating plants in operation for the past twenty years have always met our needs, construction of new generating plants will not be necessary."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

While it may be true that constructing a new energy plant is not necessary for the needs of the town, this authors argument does not make a cogent case for stopping the construction of the plant based on energy needs. Even though the correlations stated in argument are probable, they are base on many assumptions and thus, not strong enough to lead to the authors conclusion.

Citing surveys of home owners, the author reports that an increased amount of home owners have stated that they are eager to conserve energy. It is not clear, however, the scope and validity of the survey. For example, the survey could have asked the home owners that giving they had a choice of consuming more energy or conserving energy they may have been swayed to answer that they would prefer to conserve. The survey might not have asked whether or not they have actual future plans to do so. Moreover, the sample may not have been representative of the home owners in the city debating over building an energy plant and perhaps only homeowners from cities were energy is especially expensive were asked. Unless the survey is fully representative, valid and reliable, it can not be used to effectively back the authors argument.

Additionally, the author implies that because manufacturers have started to market more energy efficient home appliances, home owners were likely to buy these appliances and thus, consume less energy. While an increase in energy efficient appliances could cut down energy consumption, a concrete connection between the current supply of energy efficient appliances and consumption of energy is not effectively made. Though the supply of these product have increased, it cannot be assumed that the demand for them has also increased. Moreover, we cannot be sure from the information given if these appliances were marketed everyone, or if they are marketed for groups who have a sufficient amount a funds to invest in such products. Without more information about the prices of such products, where are being sold and for whom, we cannot assume that the city home owners will purchase them. To strengthen his argument, the author would benefit from implementing a valid survey asking a wife range of questions regarding the demand for energy sufficient home appliances and at what cost would these home owners invest in such products.

Finally, the author states that since new technologies for better home insulation and passive solar heating have become available, home owners will consume less energy when heating houses. This statement assumes that since technology is available homeowners are likely to use them. The problem is, that even if these technologies help consume energy, it cannot be assumed that homeowners will spend the resources needed in order to introduce these technologies in to their homes. It could be that these technologies are costly and thus most home owners won’t be able to afford them. Moreover, it could be possible that these new technologies cannot be installed in all homes, like apartment buildings or very old houses. Regardless of whether the technology is available or not, the author does not effectively show a connection between these new technologies and actual energy conserving.

A new energy plant may not be a wise addition to the city for it may lead to high pollution and a large amount of resources that can be allocated to other ventures, for these reasons the city may decide that it is not a good idea to build one. However, this author’s argument is not likely to significantly persuade that it is not needed in the city.