some people believe that corporations have a responsibilty to promote the wellbeing of the societies and envoirments in which they operate. others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law is to make as much money as possible.

The question whether or not corporations have a responsibility to promote the well being of the societies and environments in which they operate is a contentious one. Even though the main goal of a company should be to make profit, they have no choice but to impact the societies and communities in which the operate and thus have a responsibility to promote their well-being.

First, when a company operates within a city or community, that community is directly affected by the workings of that company. If a large corporation decides to put up camp in up and coming neighborhood, the community who lives there will have to embrace a number of positive and negative consequences that that may bring. For example, if amazon decides to open a warehouse in long island city then the community that lives there prior to amazon should suspect to see higher real state prices, which could pe positive for home owners but maybe negative for renters. Moreover, they can expect to see an influx of young tech workers moving in to community which will drastically change the culture and vibes of the neighborhood. So, seeing the large impact a huge corporation such as amazon has on an existing community just by moving in shows that corporations should have a responsibility to try and protect that community.

Second, when it comes to factories, power plants and other corporations that can have an environmental affect on their surroundings, companies shouldn’t be allowed to do whatever they deem appropriate for the sake of making a profit. This can be explained by realizing that environmental commons such as water and air are used by everybody in society equally. The people who live in a city where a power plant is situated can be seen as stakeholders, since they are directly affected by the pollution that that plant diffuses and therefore, should be allowed to have some say in that corporations’ activities. One way to do so would be to force the company by law to understand its responsibility in promoting the well-being of the society in which it operates.

A contradicting argument can claim that since the law does not see the communities in which corporations operate as direct stakeholders of those corporations, companies need to put all their effort in profiting their real stakeholders – those who have risked their money investing in those corporation. That being said, even though the communities in which corporations operate did not put their money in those companies, they are still affected by those companies and thus can be seen as a partner not by choice.

In conclusion, even though by law corporations are not responsible for the well-being of the societies in which they operate, this does not mean that they shouldn’t be. The fact the corporations have a huge impact and effect, be it positive or negative, on their surroundings, they should maintain a level of responsibility over those societies.