The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted

While it may be true that implementing electronic monitoring of employee’s internet use may improve employee’s productivity, this authors argument does not make a cogent case for increased employee surveillance to improve overall productivity and profits. Even though the correlation’s stated in the argument are probable, the authors case is full of rife assumptions and hole thus, the argument is not strong enough to lead to any real conclusions.

First, the author concludes that a sufficient amount of work hours are being spent on personal and recreational activities such as shopping or playing games. The underlying assumption here is that such a problem actually exists and thus needs to be fixed. However, the author does not give sufficient amount of information showing that a large amount of hours have been spent on personal internet usage. To strengthen his argument the author would t need to show that such a problem actually exists and thus needs to be fixed.

Building from this assumption, the author implies that this problem affects the overall work ethic and profits of the company. Though personal use of the internet may be a waste of work hours, it cannot be assumed that it brings down the workers work ethics. For example, it may be true that when workers take a number of breaks a day to use for personal matters, they become more efficient in the house they spend on work related issues. Without this information we cannot conclude that lowering personal usage of the internet will change the work ethic for the better. Moreover, the author makes a connection between lowering personal use of the internet a gaining in profits. Even if surveilling the workers would make them work more hours on work related issues, a concrete connection between this and an increase in profits cannot be made. The author may strengthen his argument if he can show that more hours spent on work will raise the profits of the company. He could do this by doing research on similar companies.

Additionally, the author believes that the right way to deal with this problem is so penalize the workers and implement electronic monitoring systems. However, this solution could actually make the problem worse. Penalizing workers could lower work ethic and thus lower profits. Without any way of knowing how this would effect the workers emotional state and work ethic we cannot assume that this solution will bring to higher profits in the company.

Although it may be true that personal usage of the internet is lowering the company’s profits, we cannot assume that this actually with true with no concrete empirical evidence, Furthermore, the author does not give a sufficient amount of information to persuade us that the best solution to this supposed problem would be to penalize employees and monitoring their work.