"Of the two leading real estate firms in our town — Adams Realty and Fitch Realty — Adams Realty is clearly superior. Adams has 40 real estate agents; in contrast, Fitch has 25, many of whom work only part-time. Moreover, Adams' revenue last year was twice as high as that of Fitch and included home sales that averaged $168,000, compared to Fitch's $144,000. Homes listed with Adams sell faster as well: ten years ago I listed my home with Fitch, and it took more than four months to sell; last year, when I sold another home, I listed it with Adams, and it took only one month. Thus, if you want to sell your home quickly and at a good price, you should use Adams Realty."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

While it may be true that Adams Realty is more superior then Fitch Realty, this authors argument does not make a cogent case for using Adams Realty over another. In the argument, the author not only draws a conclusion based on a limited amount of information, but the author confuses the basic laws of supply and demand. In result, the author leaves us with an argument that is full of holes and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to convince someone that Adams realty is superior than Fitch.

Citing the number of real estate agents each company has, the author assumes that since Adams realty has more realtors than Fitch, it is thus superior. It is not clear however, why the number of realtors a certain company has makes a difference in that companies’ success. Some additional information is needed in order for this assumption to hold water. For example, one could add a on extra data to show that in general a correlation has been found between the number of realtors a company has and that company’s success. Furthermore, one could put together a survey that asks the residents of the town whether or not the number of realtors a company makes a difference when they decide to bring their business to that company. Unless more information can be added we cannot assume that the fact that Adam’s realty has more realtors will make it more successful.

Additionally, the author implies that since Adam’s realty succeeded in selling his house in a month while ten years before it took 4 months for Finch’s realty to sell a different home, then homes listed with Adams sell faster. While the authors own experience shows that Adams realtor was more successful selling one of his properties over Fitch, it cannot be assumed that this is means Adams realty is superior. Certain questions need to be asked regarding this assumption. For example, the author mentions that ten years have passed since he last sold a house. Perhaps in these ten years the realty market has changed and the demand for houses is much higher now than it was ten years ago. In such a case, it would be much harder to sell a house in a market where the demand is low and that could be the cause for it taking longer. Moreover, the author does not mention what price he got on each house, perhaps Fitch Realty took its time in finding a buyer who was willing to pay more compared with Adams who maybe rushed to sell at a lower price. All these holes in given information show that this assumption can prove the superiority of Adams over Fitch.

The argument could be strengthened if the author provided information regarding the supply and demand of houses in the last ten years. The argument could be further strengthened, if the author would supply data regarding correlation between the number of realtors a company has and that company’s success. As it stands, however, this author’s argument is not likely to significantly persuade someone to use Adam’s realty over Fitch.