The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

The issue of whether or not questioning authority enhances the well-being of society is a contentious one. While each side has its strengths and weaknesses, I agree with the statement and believe that questioning authority enhances the wellbeing of society, because the primary problem with authority is that it has the power to constrain and limit individual freedom. Furthermore, sometimes those who are in authority will use their power to enhance their individual interests that do not always correlate with those of the greater society. Moreover, those who are with authority might be acting wrongly or unjustly towards a specific group of people, in such a case questioning authority could bring justice to light and even save lives.

First, those in positions of authority are granted by society a great amount of power. That power is used for providing society with a feeling of safety, order and stability. Such power brings on great responsibility and calls for a certain moral code that values the publics interest and wishes to enhance a greater good. However, not all those who are iwith authority obtain these values or are capable of such responsibility. In such cases, this level of power could persuade some to act within their own personal interests which could enhance their personal wellbeing but worsen the wellbeing of society in general. For example, some CEO’s of public companies who are given a large amount of power and authority over the company’s business decisions and resources have acted within their own interest by conducting acts of bribery or corruption. Such reckless behavior could bankrupt the company resulting in lowering the wellbeing of the people who have invested in the company. So, given the possibility that some people with a high level of authority might fall into criminal acts, it is of utmost importance to constantly question their decisions to make sure that intentions behind their actions are to better society and not their own personal interest.

Second, it could be argued that the main purpose of authority in society is to maintain a level of order, for this to be possible those in authority are given a clear mandate to limit and constrain a minimal amount of individual freedom if deemed necessary. This mandate is granted based on the premises that those who are in authority are chosen by the majority to act in their name because they have the qualifications to do so. However, the majority is not always in the right and is sometimes easily influenced by those in power to agree with certain limitations on freedom that can discriminate one group from another based-on ideologies, beliefs and ethnicities. For example, during world war two the German citizens voted Hitler into power believing he had the qualifications to lead their country into a brighter country. Hitler however, believed that to do so they would need to eliminate all the Jews, claiming that the Jews were the source of all wrongs in their society. Not many questioned this theory resulting in the massacre of millions of people. Therefore, questioning authority can in some circumstances save lives of innocent people.

Some may argue that questioning authority brings on chaos and disorder claiming that giving up individual freedoms is better than any scenario of anarchy and chaos. This point I find is flawed, for certain social contracts and norms are capable of constraining social chaos. Furthermore, technological developments such as the internet have given evidence to the fact the human interaction is possible with a very limited amount of authority. Others may argue that in certain organizations, such as the military, if we would question authority lives could be at stake. Even if this is true, the army itself recognizes the notion of a patently illegal order or a superior order. In other words, it recognizes the possibility that officers could use their power for wrong doing and order soldiers to act in a way that is clearly illegal. In such cases, the soldier who received such an order must question it and refuse to obey, because if he obeys such orders, he is criminally liable for the consequences of his action.

In conclusion, society has an obligation to question authority because we cannot always trust that those in authority have society’s interest in their mind. Sometimes they act in under personal interest which could result in corruption. Furthermore, even though those in authority have been given a clear mandate by the people to limit and constrain individual freedoms if deemed necessary, when this leads towards acts of violence or worse, genocide, such authority must be questioned. For these reasons and more, society should question authority because doing so could not only enhance well-being but also save lives.