"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

While it may be true that if the city prohibits skateboarding in central plaza the business will return to its previously high levels, the store owners do not make a cogent case for prohibiting skateboarding based on a decreased number of shoppers at the plaza. It is easy to understand why shop owners would want to eliminate vandalism and litter, but some questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the store owner’s recommendation to prohibit skateboarding would actually lead to a return in business.

The shop owner states that over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. It’s not clear, however, if the fact that skateboarding has increased is what caused the decrease in shoppers. Some extra information is needed in order to understand the cause and effect. For example, perhaps it is possible that there was first a decrease in shoppers that eventually led to more skateboarders aggregating at the central plaza since less people has given them more room to skate. A question the should be asked is whether or not the decrease in shoppers started before there was an increase in skateboarders, unless this evidence can be shown we cannot know if it was the influx in skateboarders that cause the decrease in shoppers or the opposite.

Additionally, the author states that there has been an been an increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza which is part of the reason why shoppers have stopped coming to the plaza. While a central plaza that is full of litter and vandalism would likely cut down the number of shoppers, there seems to be an assumption here that skateboarders are likely to be at fault when it comes to acts of vandalism and litter are the fault. To strengthen this argument, some additional information is needed. To identify a concrete connection between vandalism and skateboarders, questions such as whether or not the shop owners have actually seen the skateboarders vandalizing the property must be asked. If vandalism and litter is the real cause for the decrease in shoppers and it is revealed that the skateboarders are not the ones to blame for this, then prohibiting them from entering the plaza would not help bring back shoppers.

Moreover, the shop owner builds his argument by stating that the increase in skateboarders and vandalism is dramatic while the decrease in shoppers is steady. These words can be seen as vague and ambiguous. Some information regarding the actual numbers could help us understand the state of things. For example if it turns out that the steady decrease has been going on for ten years but the increase in skateboarders has only started a year ago, then it wouldn’t make sense that the presumed correlation means causation.

Skateboarders can sometime abrade the floors they skate on causing a gradual wearing down of the plaza’s stairs and floors. This on its own might be a good reason for the city to prohibit skateboarding in the plaza. However, without answering some important questions and brining to light additional information, the shop owners argument is not likely to significantly persuade the city that prohibiting skateboarding will bring an increase in shoppers.