"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popular in Monroe: over 100,000 people attended Monroe's annual jazz festival last summer; several well-known jazz musicians live in Monroe; and the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. Finally, a nationwide study indicates that the typical jazz fan spends close to $1,000 per year on jazz entertainment."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

While a jazz music club in the town of Monroe might be a profitable enterprise, the authors argument does not make a cogent case for a business loan based on the given information. In the argument the author not only draws a conclusion based on vague and ambiguous terms, but makes sweeping generalizations based on a small amount of data. Furthermore, the author makes a mistake of focusing on the demand for jazz on the radio while ignoring the supply of other types of music. For these reasons and more, the argument is not strong enough to convince money loaners to invest in the developer’s jazz enterprise.

First, the author claims that jazz is extremely popular in Monroe by stating that over 100,000 people attended Monroe’s annual jazz festival last summer. This conclusion has a number of problems. First, the author seems to be assuming that if a large number of people attended the jazz festival in Monroe, then jazz is an extremely popular genre with the residents, this however, does not have to be true. In order for this assumption to hold water, we would need additional information regarding who attended the festival, average attendance for jazz festivals in general and the population size of Monroe. For example, if we were to find out that out of the 100,000 people who attended the festival none were residents of Monroe, then the author adding this specific statement is irrelevant to his argument. Moreover, if we were to receive data regarding jazz festivals in general only to find that, in average jazz festivals attract a much larger amount of people then 100,000, then we could claim that Monroe’s jazz festival was not successful at all and thus that the authors argument is faulty.

Additionally, the author implies that jazz is very popular in Monroe stating that the highest-rated radio program in Monroe is 'Jazz Nightly,' which airs every weeknight at 7 P.M. While the highest rated radio program in town would likely be as a result of high popularity for the genre of music on that program, a concrete connection between jazz popularity within Monroe residents and radio statistics is not effectively made. To refute this statement, we could add on additional evidence showing that Monroe residents typically listen to radio on their drive home from work around 7 P.M. If such evidence was presented, then the high rates Jazz Nightly received is not caused by the popularity of jazz, but rather by the high numbers of listeners at that specific time of the day.

Investment in small businesses and cultural endeavors can often enhance a city’s value and add quality to residents’ lives. For these reasons, city officials might wish to help out small businesses with loans and marketing. However, this authors argument is not likely to significantly persuade the city accept their application for a small business loan in order to open a jazz club.