College students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The role of the university in society has always been a contentious subject. A subject that many philosophers and academics debated throughout history. The question of whether or not students should choose a field of study based on the availability of jobs in that field, I believe is directly related to the heated debate over the role of the university. In my opinion the students should not solely choose a field of study strictly based on the availability of jobs in that field, this is because I believe that the role of university in society is not only to provide students with the practical skills that will land them a job, but to expand the knowledge of the world, seek truth and enhance critical thinking.

Many people in society see the university as an institution where young students go in order to gain the practical skills one needs to succeed in the job market. These people argue that if students don’t choose to study a curriculum that can promise them a job after graduation then they might be wasting their time and money. However, throughout history, the role of the university was not to prepare students for the job market but to prepare them to be engaging citizens, capable of asking the right questions and thinking critically. This stance is based on the premises that subjects such as philosophy, history etc. provoke thought and seek out the truth. So, if students were to base their field of study on the availability of jobs in that field then subjects that have been thought as provoking critical thinking would be obsolete, thus worsening the quality of society in general.

In conclusion, choosing one’s field of study based on the availability of jobs in that field could lead to certain subjects such as philosophy and history, fields known to not have many job opportunities, to become obsolete. The role of the university should not be seen as only a organization that teaches practical skills for the job market, but also an institution that enhances the quest for truth by provoking thought and creativity.