143. No field of study can advance significantly unless it incorporates knowledge and experience from outside that field. 建议

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The speaker asserts that no field of study can significantly develop unless it incorporates knowledge and experience from outside that field. I agree with this idea and I would like to add that there are two reasons to explain the speaker’s view. One is that scientific research is interrelated, and another is that incorporation promotes enhance research efficiency. However, collaboration with other fields does not necessarily bring advantages if researchers disobey some principles.

Today’s increasing academic exchanges and the gradually perfect open-access academic platforms bring an unprecedented prosperity in inter-disciplinary research. Although some people contend that in the past when academic communications were not that frequent, scholars have also made cutting-edge discoveries, today loner researchers hardly make significant scientific breakthroughs. First reason is that the world around us, no matter the material one or the spiritual one is an interrelated and interdependent organic ensemble. Thus, studies into these two worlds closely connect with each other, whatever natural science or social science. Scholars who are good at using the connections with other disciplines make important achievements. Although biology, economy and urban planning seemingly are three irrelevant subjects, they are both studying into group behaviors, that of animals and that of people. By referring to ant colony effect, economists designed an agent-based model to simulate customers’ shopping behaviors while urban planners contrived a cellular automata model to predict residential mobility. These two models in turn refined the ant colony theory. The collaboration between these three disciplines clearly illustrates how the intrinsic bond between different studying fields contributes to scientific advancements.

The second reason, why inter-disciplinary research is more likely to make accomplishments than single-disciplinary research, lies in the optimized research methodologies and techniques. Computer science can boost research of all fields because it facilitates the process of collecting and analyzing data and enhances researchers’ ability of calculating. In order to obtain residents’ mobility data, the traditional field survey needs at least three months while the advanced only survey requires only one week. Furthermore, machine learning and artificial intelligence which are apt at calculation can liberate researchers from onerous data processing works. Consequently, researchers can save more times and energies to deal the key research problems.

That being said, incorporating other fields of study does not bring only positive effects. Scholars that fail to deal with the relationship with other fields carry the risk of putting all efforts in vain. Researchers should avoid several traps such as the loss of conviction, the eager to encompass all and the disobeying research interests. Before working with other fields, researchers should seriously choose working partners based on the common research interests. During the collaboration, scholars must always keep their research conviction in mind and not be guided by scholars from other fields. After the collaboration, scholars should return to their research topic, carefully comb their thoughts, resume collaboration experiences and make contributions. All in all, although incorporating other studying fields is attempting, it should always be considered as a means to facilitate research but not become itself the focus of attention.

In conclusion, I agree with the speaker’s argument for two reasons that no one research field exists alone, and the incorporation of other disciplines improve research efficiency. However, researchers should always focus on their own research interest and not let themselves be guided by studies from other fields.