Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When it comes to whether the rules that the society today expect young people to follow and obey are to strict, students and parents tend to have different points of views. Some youngsters think that they have to adjust themselves to more rigid societal regulations than youngsters in the past. However, I think that in some fields young people do enjoy more freedom, but in other fields young people do not.

First, today's society is more enlightened than the society before in terms of acceptance of LGBT groups. This acceptance gives young people more liberty in expressing love and choosing life-long partners. In the last century the LGBT groups were remaining in an extremely low profile and most of them were unknown for the public. The Chinese movie Lan Yu tells a love story between two boys in 1990. They were extremely fascinated by each other. They wrote love letters, sung songs and read books to each other. However, they could not announce their love publicly and finally both of them married with women. Another American movie Brokeback Mountains also demonstrates the difficulty for two gays to be together in last century. However, today ‘s LGBT group receives more social support and identity. For example, in many counties gay marriage is legal and protected by the law. Under these circumstances, young people have more liberty than before in choosing lovers.

Second, the relationship between children and parents is more equal today than before. In the past, children had a lower status in family, and their behaviors were strictly influenced by the society’s moral standards. They had to listen to parent’s orders and adjust their behaviors according to parents’ wishes. In contrast, children of today are regarded as an independent individual. In ancient China, every child had to adjust their behaviors according to an ethical standards handbook that listed all behaviors forbidden in front of elders. For example, young could not eat with parents at same table and could not look straight to parents’ eye as these two behaviors considered as challenges to parents’ authority. However, in modern people’s eye these rules are neither comprehensible nor acceptable. Today children are taken care and even pampered by parents and children can treat their parents as good friend. Under these circumstances, children today have less rules to follow when they communicate with parents.

However, not all aspects of society impose less limits on young people's behaviors. Young people have more liberty in private lives but have less freedom in works. Unlike ancestors of hunting and collecting society, who had a free working schedule and could devote more time to spouse and offspring, modern people are mostly office bound workers. Graduates who are entering in a new company and desiring to leave a good impression to their employers have to work extremely hard and practice a strict nine to nine work routine from Monday to Saturday. The intense competition of modern society imposes an invisible limit on young people's life. Young people have to follow some hidden rules such as working overtime automatically, giving gifts to bosses regularly, paying bills for clients actively etc. In a nutshell, modern young employees obey more unwritten rules than employees of the past.

All in all, the society is more enlightened than before regarding people's relationship, but the increasing intense competition imposes a stricter rule on young people's behaviors.