Claim: It is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero. 事实

Reason: The reputation of anyone who is subjected to media scrutiny will eventually be diminished.

The author asserts that it is no longer for a society to regard any living person as a hero because strict media scrutiny will finally diminish one’s reputation. However, I do not agree with the author’s idea. Admittedly, strict media coverage does reveal the flaws, stains and negative aspects of one hero, but the name of a real hero will never fade into oblivion.

Granted, the reason that the author presented is plausible that the increasing strict media scrutiny can more easily diminish a person’s population. This is because the flaws of a hero that the media disclosed, break the perfect image that the hero has shown to the public. Take the young singer Yuan Wang as an example. In the public’s eye, he is an energetic, handsome, talent and hard-working singer. Young children consider him as a role model and imitate his behaviors in many ways. Nonetheless, a recent media reportage revealed the negative aspect of Wang that he had illegally smoking in the indoor public space. After this media coverage, his positive image proved an illusion and all his fame has faded away. Therefore, the gradually strict media reportage unveils the multiple aspects of a hero, not only his or her virtues and strong points but also the drawbacks. The uncovered drawbacks will considerably blemish one hero’s image.

In contrast to diminish a hero’s population, media scrutiny also contributes to set up and broadcast a hero’s fame. Media sometimes serves to the public as a magnified glass through which the public can find and recognize anonymous hero who is silently doing noble things. Take the TV program Beautiful Mind (same name with the American film but not with the same content) as an example. This program that each year selects ten anonymous heroes, is like by the public of all ages and many civilian heroes has become well-known through this media platform. “Qingcao”, a group of young graduated students abandoned their high-paid works in cities and now is working in the remote mountain area as volunteer teachers. Chen Chen, a sixty-year-old grandfather, spent all his life in planting trees at the brink of the desert. There are still many anonymous heroes whose story is touching and inspiring, but most of them are unknown for the public. Nonetheless, the media reports unveiled these stories and spread them into a wider range.

Furthermore, real heroes will never diminish regardless of the media’s harshness, strictness and frequency. In the field of science, art and politics, it is replete with such examples. Yuming Pei, the world’s greatest architect, whose famous artwork is the Museum of Louvre, enjoyed a celebrity for forty years and is still receiving people’s respects. Students majoring in architecture regard him as a hero who bravely defend architecture’s culture meaning against the pure constructing techniques. Long Cheng, a modest and extremely hard-working actor, enjoyed a title as “Big Brother” because he is willing to help people and doing charity. Although he has made several mistakes while he was young, his charisma, warm heart and kindness make his population lasting for over thirty years. Guanzhong WU, a modest, diligent and talent artist, has devoted all his life in investigating the spirit of Chinese traditional art. Polished both by the public scrutiny and by the time, his reputation is growing stronger. These three examples adequately illustrate that real heroes’ reputation always get over through the media’s scrutiny.

In sum, increasingly strict and frequent media scrutiny does break the fake image of a hero and blemish his or her reputation, but real heroes will never fade into oblivion. Furthermore, the media coverage also discovers anonymous heroes and bring them into the public’s eye.