48. Educators should teach facts only after their students have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts. 建议

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

While some educators contend that teachers should prioritize ideas, trends and concepts over facts because the formers can help explain the latter, I do not agree with this idea. In my opinion, whether teachers should teach concept or facts at first depends on many factors. Students’ ability of abstract thinking, specificities of different subjects, both influence teachers’ decision. Through analyzing three specific circumstances, this essay aims at illustrating that educators should adjust their teaching plan according to students’ ability and subjects’ peculiarity.

To begin with, not all students have the ability to assimilate ideas and concepts before learning specific facts. Learning is proved to follow some laws and one law is that learning is a gradual process from concrete to abstract. From kindergartens to graduate schools, students increasingly improve their ability of abstract thinking. Given that abstract thinking is a cultivated rather than an inborn skill, it is not adequate to force all students to learn abstract concepts at first. Taking children of kindergarten as an example, the concepts such as biology, gastronomy, astronomy, sociology will no doubt confuse them, but children can easily understand the words such as Micky mouse, hamburger, star and friend. Under these circumstances, teachers of kindergarten and/or primary school should make more efforts in explaining concrete facts rather than intangible concepts.

Furthermore, in applied disciplines, which are almost problem-oriented, facts have more value than concepts because problems are often derived from realities. Students majoring in applied subjects are expected to find solutions that meet realistic requirements such as limited budgets, pressing deadline, negative environmental impact. Take urban planning, a subject that intend to conciliate the relationship between humans and lands, as an example. A good urban design project is that resolves local problems and develops local specificities at same time. To meet these two demands, students have to carefully study the situations of sites through analyzing the local geological conditions, local chronicles, demographic data and economic situations. In contrast, a bad urban design project neglects the concrete situations of sites and blindly follows aesthetic rules, planning concepts and design principles. An ivory-towered project stemmed from abstract notions can drastically eradicate a city’s local features and render it a fake image. Consequently, for applied subjects such as architecture, urban planning and landscape design, teachers should cultivate in students the sensibilities towards facts and realities but should not play with abstract notions.

That being said, ideas, trends and concepts still play important roles in learning process. For basic or theoretical subjects, studying abstract notions should be priority over learning facts because the former can help students to draw the whole picture of a theory. Yet, too detailed information often confuses students. Using the history of art as an example, it includes six main art periods, and each period produces more than five artistic genres, and each genre has at least two representative artists who creates more than ten works. Under these circumstances, students must feel exhausted if they directly studying the meanings of each painting in consideration of the huge numbers of art works. However, starting by learning art trends, artistic genres and design philosophies, students can easily construct a proper mental map of the art history.

To summarize, whether teachers should start with teaching facts or teaching notions depends on students and subjects. Through evaluating the speaker’s argument under three specific circumstances, this essay proves that for students, who have not yet the ability of abstract thinking, teaching facts should be the priority. In addition, for applied subjects which aim at resolving problems facts are more important than concepts. Nevertheless, for students from theoretical studying fields, teachers should first teach them trends, ideas and concepts.