48. Educators should teach facts only after their students have studied the ideas, trends, and concepts that help explain those facts. 建议

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Some educators contend that teachers should prioritize ideas, trends and concepts over facts because the formers can help explain the latter. I do not agree with this idea and I would argue that whether teachers should teach the concept or the facts at first depends on different circumstances. Students’ ability to understand abstract concepts, the specificities of different subjects, are elements that influence teachers’ decision. In analyzing three specific circumstances, this essay aims at illustrating that educators should adjust their teaching plan according to students and subjects.

To begin with, not all students have the ability to assimilate abstract ideas before learning concrete facts. Learning is process and follows some laws among which one is that learning is a process from concrete to abstract. From kindergarten to graduate schools, students gradually improved their ability of abstract thinking. Given that abstract thinking is a cultivated rather than an inborn skill, it is not adequate to force all students to learn abstract concepts at first. Taking children from kindergarten as an example, the concept such as biology, cuisine, astronomy, sociology will no doubt confuse them, but they can easily understand words such as Micky mouse, hamburger, stars and friends. Under these circumstances, teachers from kindergartens and primary schools should make more efforts in explaining concrete facts rather than intangible concepts.

Furthermore, in applied subjects, most of which are problem-oriented, facts have more values than concepts because problems usually are derived from reality. Students from these studying fields are expected to find solutions that meet realistic requirements such as limited budgets, pressing deadline, negative environmental impact. Take urban planning, a subject aiming at conciliating the relationship between men and lands, as an example. A good urban design project is a project that resolve local problems and develop local specificities at same time. To meet these two demands, students have to carefully study the facts of sites through analyzing the local geological conditions, local history, demographic data and economic status quo. In contrast, a bad urban design neglects the concrete situations of sites and blindly follows aesthetic rules, planning concepts and design principles. It is the ivory-towered projects that eradicate cities’ features and render a same image to all cities. Under these circumstances, for applied subjects such as architecture, urban planning and landscape design, teachers should cultivate in students the sensibilities towards facts and realities but not play with abstract notions.

That being said, it is not to negate the importance of learning ideas, trends and concepts. For basic or theoretical subjects, studying abstract notions is more essential than learning facts because with the former students can efficiently draw a whole picture of one theory. In contrast, detailed information confuses students. Taking the history of art as an example, it includes six main art periods, and each period produces more than five artistic genres, and each genre has at least two representative artists who creates more than ten works. these circumstances, students must feel exhausted if they directly studying the meaning of each painting in consideration of the huge number of art works. However, starting by learning the art trends, artistic genres and design philosophy, students can easily grasp the structure of art history.

To conclude, the question whether teachers should start with teaching facts or teaching notions depends on the students and the subjects. Through evaluating the speaker’s argument under three specific circumstances, this essay proved that for students, who have not yet the ability of abstract thinking, teaching facts should be priority. In addition, for applied subjects which aim at resolving problems facts are more important than concepts. Nevertheless, for students from theoretical studying fields, teachers should work on teach them trends, ideas and concepts.