94. The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

To assess a leader's achievement is becoming increasingly important not only for the public but also for leaders themselves. A precise and comprehensive evaluation standard can not only help the public to identify the most effective leader, but also help politicians to improve themselves. The author argues that the examination of well-being of the public is the best way to evaluate a leader. However, I think the well-being of the public is a concept too abstract and too ambiguous to be the best criterion. I think that the best way to measure a leader's effectiveness is to establish an evaluation system with multiple measurable criteria which can translate the public’s well-being as a whole into different measurable parts.

Some people may contend that the well-being of the public is the best indication of a leader's performance. First, this is because the well-being of the public is the ultimate goal for each politician. Leaders who elected by the public should devote themselves wholeheartedly to the public's welfare. Thus, it is reasonable to consider the well-being of the public, the ultimate purpose for politicians, as the best measurement. Second, compared with other measurements, the well-being of the public could represent most citizen's opinion regarding a leader's effectiveness. Other measurements, such as the achievements of elites, involving only a small group of people, are not representative for all citizens. However, in my opinion, the well-being of the public is not an applicable measurement to evaluate a leader's effectiveness. First, well-being is an abstract concept and consists of multiple aspects. Each individual has their own definition about well-being. Some people prioritize health in their lives, but others put money and powers at the first place. Furthermore, it is difficult to evaluate objectively the well-being of every individual, let alone to collect and analyze the well-being of 1.4 billion people in China. To conclude, although the well-being of the public seems like a crucial and reasonable measurement of a leader's effectiveness, in fact it remains theoretical best and inapplicable in reality.

To measure the effectiveness of a country's leader, we should consider other applicable criteria. In my opinion all criteria which can fulfill the listed two requirements can be considered as an effective measurement to evaluate a leader's accomplishment. First requirement is that the new criteria should reflect the well-being of the public as it is the ultimate goal of a country's leader. We are looking a group of criteria that each criterion represents an aspect of the public's well-being rather than looking for the only criterion equaling to the public's welfare. Second requirement is the measurability of the criteria and the accessibility to the data. For example, we can measure the citizens' living condition by analyzing the houses' prices, measure the job opportunities by analyzing the tax of unemployment, measure the cultural diversity by analyzing the number of museums and galleries. To conclude, although we cannot measure the public's well-being directly, we can measure the public's well-being indirectly by decomposing it into measurable parts, such as house affordability, job opportunity and education accessibility. Thus, a group of criteria , which can translate the immeasurable public well-being as a whole into several measurable parts, is needed to evaluate the effectiveness of a country's leader.

In sum, to evaluate the effectiveness of a country's leader by examining the public's well-being is unfeasible in reality as the public's well-being is an abstract and unmeasurable concept. Thus, the best way to thoroughly evaluate a politician's accomplishment is to establish an evaluation system with multiple measurable criteria which can reflect partly the public's well-being.