94. The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

How can we evaluate leaders' performance? Some people suggest using the citizens' well-being as a criterion. Even the prestigious motto of Lincoln, " of the people, by the people and for the people" contends that the social welfare is of great importance in politicians' career. However, in my opinion, the effectiveness of a country's leaders stems from the well-being of that country's citizens but also originates in their achievements in other fields, such as science.

People adhering to this claim wholeheartedly would reject my proposition. They argue that the public's well-being is the only measurement of leaders' effectiveness. To some extent, I understand why they think like this. By connecting politicians' performance tightly with the public's goodness, we can force politicians make more efforts. It is true that during campaign many politicians made idle talks and gave empty promise to the public, but once they became elected, they usually act like that they have forgotten what they have promised and refuse to make good. If we rate the leaders' effectiveness by measuring the public's well-being, we can force leaders to fulfill their promises and offer more tangible benefits to the public, such as to develop public transport, build more museums and art galleries, ameliorate public spaces and lower education fees etc.

Seemingly, linking leaders' achievement tightly with the social welfare has only advantages. In fact, this claim is over simplistic and over optimistic for it concentrates only to the well-being of current generation, focuses mostly on some short-sighted benefits and caters to the public's current needs.

Using public's welfare as the only criterion to decide leaders' effectiveness will give leaders a wrong signal and mislead them to make short-sighted decisions which will detriment the future generation. This is because sometimes the well-being of current generation contradicts with that of future one. For example, due to the limited spaces on earth, the more we transform wild lands into urban areas to satisfy current generation's needs for entertainment parks and commercial districts, the less the future generation could use for their development. To strike a balance between today and tomorrow is a complicated question and requires knowledge of many disciplines. Normal people who have neither received the special training nor have enough information may find several decisions that politicians made are unreasonable. Under this circumstance, politicians should prioritize the future generation's well-being instead effusively cater to the current generation's needs. Thus, the leader's achievement does not necessarily derive from the public welfare but originate in a long-term consideration for future.

Opponents to the idea of leader's long-term consideration may confuse about the measurements about leader's effectiveness. They may ask how can we evaluate politicians' effectiveness in terms of their consideration for our children? How can we know that the politicians are really making efforts for the future generation instead of using it as an excuse for their misconduct? In my opinion, we could evaluate leader's effectiveness in multi-ways. An important criterion is their support to the scientific research, to the cutting-edge technologies. Even some research does not bring instant advantages, these researches will produce tremendous benefits to future people. The theoretical base of artificial intelligence was first published eighty years ago, but only in today it is applied and facilitates tremendously people's life. The black hole theory was first presented hundred years ago, and only in this year we arrived to capture the picture of the black hole. After this picture, many young people admired the precedents' wisdom and decided to devote themselves wholehearted to the career of outer space exploration. All achievements that we made today are closely relating not only to the scientists but also to the politicians who provided financial supports to researches. Thus, we could judge the leaders' effectiveness in terms of their consideration for future generation by looking at their engagements with science.

In conclusion, I partly agree with the author that the public's well-being is an important criterion to evaluate leaders' achievement for that it could force politicians to bring tangible benefits and fulfill their promises made during the campaign. However, we should use multiple ways to evaluate leaders within which the support for scientific research is important.