65. *Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws. 事实

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The speaker asserts that everyone has the responsibility to obey just laws and disobey unjust laws. I agree with this argument and I would even go further to say that the peaceful resistance against unjust laws is not just a responsibility but also a necessity to improve the well-being of our society. The unjust judicial laws, scientific laws and design principles all request individual’s feedback.

People who do not agree with this argument may contend that the disobedience and resistance against unjust laws would bring harmful effects on our society in consideration of the recent Guillets Jaunes manifestation that happened in France. The middle and low-income people violently manifested their discontent and this movement finally escalated into social tumult. Guillets Jaunes event intended to violate the French President Emmanuel Macron’s tax reform on fuel tax. Hundreds of thousands of people, who do not accept the fuel tax reform, assembled in main streets in over ten major cities. Their assemblies seriously affected the social operation and produced social disorders in a mass scale. Transportation, public services, commercial activities were totally shut down. Guillets Jaunes movement finally turned into lootings, arsons and apparent assaults. It resulted in a financially weakened country and damaged properties of normal people. This violent manifestation discovered the negative aspect and the unwanted results brought by the public’s resistance against unjust laws.

I concede that the violent methods of manifestation are not accepted, even though the social cause is worthy. However, if the public, the great number of people can present their views towards unjust laws peacefully, they should be allowed even encouraged. This is because social development depends on the participation into public affairs, the contribution of ideas of individuals. The resistance of individuals helps the authorities to adjust and refine laws according to the social changes.

First, there is no absolute just or unjust laws and our legal system needs constant changes and improvements. Although some key figures, charismatic visionary such Washington, King, Gandhi are essential in promoting the social justice and fairness, it is the normal people, the public who effect the changes. I would argue that without the supports of each individuals, much of the social improvements would not take in place. The same-sex marriage laws proved the important role of individuals’ resistance. In the Middle Ages, the whole society considered the relationships between same-sex people as illegal and immoral. As the LGBT groups more bravely present their desires for same-sex marriage, as they more actively challenge the current marriage law, and as more individuals participate in the Pride Parade, the authorities hear the voices of LGBT groups, understand their demands and finally modified the law of marriage. This example adequately illustrated two points: first is the blurred line between just and unjust laws, and second is the enhanced human rights brought by the resistance of individuals against unjust laws.

Second, encouraging individual’s resistant behaviors and spirits against unjust laws does not apply only to the field of legislation, but also to the field of science and arts. In the world of science, there are also some conventional laws that all researchers adhere to. Similarly, in the field of art, artists conform with basic design principles. Nevertheless, neither the conventional scientific rules nor the traditional design principles are constantly true since we gain more understandings about the world and ourselves. The heliocentric theory, the humankind’s evolution from other form of life, the relativity of time and space, the existence of black hole, all these creative theories widened our scope of knowledge by challenging the conventional scientific laws established by precedents. Likewise, in the field of art, the impressionism, the sublime, the surrealism overthrew the traditional law of beauty which advocates strict symmetry.

In conclusion, I agree with the speaker’s argument that individuals are responsible to obey just laws but also to disobey and resist unjust laws. While they present their discontent, individuals should resort to peaceful measures and reject violent behaviors. Furthermore, the resistant spirits are essential not only for the unjust judicial laws but also for the incorrect scientific and artistic laws.