38 It is primarily through our identification with social groups that we define ourselves.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The self-definition comes primarily through the interaction with other people and not through self-observation, introspection and independent thinking. This claim overemphasize the roles of social activities on an individual's development and negates subjective initiative. In my opinion, the identification with social groups reflects our current situations to some extent and embodies present mental state in some ways, but a person’s existing social circle neither could define a person thoroughly nor should impede his or her future anticipation.

First, I do agree that the identification with social groups contributes to self-definition, but in an insignificant way. This identification serves like a mirror which can say our current state and project a big image of the group to which we belong. Although, a Chinese Emperor Taizong used to say that, using friends as a mirror, people discern their own qualities and defaults. In fact, this is because that people from the same social groups usually have certain same characteristics. For examples, the Wall Street's elites in suite and ties, wearing Rolex and handmade Italian shoes differ clearly from geeks of Silicon Valley, the IT workers who are in T-shirts, shorts and Adidas slippers. Furthermore, these common points draw a big picture of this group. For examples, the appealing appearance of financial consultants mirrors their dependence on external images in judging people, emphasizes their attention to the physical world. In contrast, the wearing style of minimalism leading by Mark Zuckerberg reflects the coders’ indifference to external images and expresses their attention to the virtual world. However, the common points of a same social groups are too vague to define a group member’s personality precisely, sensitively and insightfully.

Second, self-founding is a complicated journey full of surprise. In addition to the interaction with social groups, there are multiple elements could help us to self-define. To form a comprehensive, sensitive and proper self-definition, we should not limit ourselves only to the social interaction but should meet ourselves with the reality constantly and intentionally. For example, reading book is a good way. Inspired by the words of Oscar Wilde that "We are all in the gutter but some of us are looking at star", I want to become a person of idealism and refuse to conform to the current social trending of realism and consumerism. Furthermore, in the opera of Notre Dame de Paris, the beautiful voice of Quasimodo developed in me the spirit of self-sacrifice to love. There is no doubt that everyone must have been touched by a piece of poem, a lyric from a song or a plot from a novel. Once we get touched, we found a piece of jigsaw of our personality, thus we could self-define better.

Third, the word "primarily" in the claim accentuates the role of outer world in self-definition and not the personal inner world. However, ego-founding and self-defining is a personal approach and relates fundamentally to the people’s own experiences and motivation. The preference of books, paintings, poems and novels, which imply a person’s characteristics, are mostly to personal choices. Even if the outer social groups, such as universities or companies, sometimes may ask students or employees to read a list of books, but they could not force them have the same points of views. Another example is from a BBC documentary. Twin brothers, billionaire Evan and beggar George, have totally different life path, although they have the same growth environments and social circles of younger ages. These two examples illustrate that the social groups, the outer world do not decide who you are, but your inner world, your interests, your determination do.

To resume, the identification with social groups could help us to form an abstract view about who we are. However, to form a precise and sensitive self-definition is a circuitous process, requesting a constant confrontation with realities, a non-stop retrospection and a gradual formation of inner world.