Should the government focus more on preserving natural environment and less on economic development?

When it comes to whether government should focus more on preserving natural environment or more on economic, people from different fields tend to hold different point of views. The tree huggers argue that governments should prioritize environmental preservation over the economic development. However, I do not agree with this idea. In my opinion, these two goals are not mutually exclusive and developing economy is as important as preserving natural environment.

To begin with, I agree with the idea that modern people are facing at severe environmental problems and the responsibility to remedy these problems falls on human being. After the second industrial revolution, the productivity, the capacity of human being to transforming nature has been improved exponentially. As a result, thousands of hectares of wild areas have turned into artificial spaces. According to research conducted by MIT’s urban and regional study department, in recent fifty years, human’s activities have decreased forests’ areas by 40% and have driven over thousand species to extinction. Except for the problem of biodiversity, the problem of pollution is also worth human’s attentions. In this regard, isn’t it imperative that government allocate more tax revenues on environmental improvement?

However, remedying environment is a time-consuming and money-demanding process. Without a strong economic support, the career of environmental protection cannot be sustained. Contrary to the deterioration of environment, improvement of it takes a relative long process. For instance, the restoration of one hectare of wet zone takes ten years and the growth of a poplar tree needs twenty years. In addition to the time, a huge amount of money is needed. If governments only prioritize the improvement of environment and neglect the development of economy, the governmental tax revenues will soon make ends meet. In this case, the career of environmental protection could not be bolstered, let alone to guarantee the development of other aspects of society, such as the promotion of education, the coverage of medical assurance. Under these circumstances, but for to develop economy, governments could not improve both the well-being of both the environment and the society.

Government should regard the development of economy as important as the preservation of environment. Because these two problems are mutually exclusive. By combining these two problems, governments can find innovative and efficient resolution to save these two problems at the same time. The high-quality environment could boost the tourist’s industry and stimulate local economy. The flourishing tourist’s industry provide the stable financial support to the further environmental amelioration. Take the Yellow River park in China as an example. The local government separated this area into two parts. One part is a park, opened to the public where people can rent an open space to do barbecue. Another part is a protected wet area where the specialists are working on the renovation of riverbanks and the restoration of biodiversity. The Yellow River project has already been carried out for ten years and the combination of economic and environmental concerns makes this project a role models for many other projects.

To sum up, in order to resolve the urgent environmental problem, governments should elaborate a long-term plan according their economic power. Giving equal weights to the environmental preservation and the economic development helps government to gain the result of double win.