19. Governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today rather than on trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future. 建议

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The speaker asserts that governments should prioritize the immediate problems and put the anticipated problems of future at second place. I partly agree with the speaker that governments should resolve the immediate problems at first. However, the anticipated problems of future should be given the same priority.

Admittedly, some immediate problems are so severe that cannot bear any time lags. Through solving immediate problems governments can make some clear and warranted political achievements that can earn them supports and respects from people. For example, cleaning deteriorated riverbed can ameliorate the image of public space. Shutting down immediately the heavy industries can reduce cities PM value and render cities a green image. Constructing more highways can resolve everyday’ s traffic jam. Building more apartments can mitigate the high price of estates. Deteriorated living space, polluted air, inefficient traffic network and the high price of living are immediate problems that relate directly to the public’s well-being. Surely, it is the government’s responsibility to save these problems high on their agenda.

However, solving these immediate problems of today do not necessarily preclude governments from finding solution for the anticipated problems of future. By giving today’s problem and tomorrow’s problems equal priority and solving them together, governments can save valuable times and moneys. In contrast, focusing only on the immediate problems and ignoring future problems is unwise and counterproductive.

Solving today’s problem in consideration of tomorrow’s problem can give governments a bigger image. After seeing whole picture, governments can elaborate a long-term plan to totally eradicate the problems of today and tomorrow. Taking Bordeaux Metropolitan as an example. In order to retreat the polluted river, Bordeaux government does not limit their eyes in the river itself. They link the current pollution problems with the anticipated problems brought by Global warming and the rise of sea level. Through connecting these problems, the government released a plan of Natural Cure. This plan transforms a polluted river into a marine animal preservation. Compared with the traditional cleaning plan that uses chemical products, this plan requests only physical cleaning which is cleaner and more ecofriendly. Furthermore, this area designed as a sponge responds positively to the arise of sea-level. Anticipating the future’s urban issue helps Bordeaux government to elaborate a single plan that resolving two questions at one time, at low-cost with more benefits.

Focusing only on today’s immediate problem and ignoring future’s anticipated problems bring harmful effects. First, resolution to only the immediate problem carries the risk of being palliative and not curative. “Ghost Cities” adequately illustrate this point. Local governments failed to associate the immediate problem of housing shortage with the hidden threat of environmental problems. New buildings were born at the expense of nature. After having been settled down for several years, new residents moved out to other cities because of flooding and sandstorm. Thus, the whole city turned to a ghost city. All efforts that local government made, in terms of time, money and human force, are in vain.

Second, government’s focus only on immediate problems will give scholars a wrong signal that the government cares only about research producing practical and immediate benefits. This wrong signal frustrates deeply scholars who study into the very cutting-edge technologies. However, these cutting-edge technologies, which may not bring benefits right now, may resolve the problem totally. Taking the technique of terraforming as an example. Although terraforming cannot resolve the diverse urban issue, this technique can make these urban issues obsolete by building new cities in other planets. Thus, by looking for immediate solutions for the pressing problems governments may miss other creative and efficient solutions.

In conclusion, governments should begin to resolve the pressing problems immediately. However, they should not ignore the anticipated problems of future. For that, combining two types of problems together provides better solution at lower costs with more benefits. In contrast, ignoring the future problems risks of wasting resources and indirectly affects the corresponding research into possible solutions.