The following appeared in a health magazine.

"The citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. Their responses to a recent survey show that in their eating habits they conform more closely to government nutritional recommendations than they did ten years ago. Furthermore, there has been a fourfold increase in sales of food products containing kiran, a substance that a scientific study has shown reduces cholesterol. This trend is also evident in reduced sales of sulia, a food that few of the most healthy citizens regularly eat."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

A health magazine presented a conclusion that the citizens of Forsythe have adopted more healthful lifestyles. It carries out this conclusion based on three evidences: first is a recent survey which shows that citizens' eating habits more closely conform to governmental nutrition recommendations than they did ten years ago. The second evidence is the increase in sales of food products containing kiran. The third evidence is a decrease in sales of sulia. However, all these three evidences are not sufficient in supporting the magazine' conclusion, and further evidences are needed to show a more comprehensive picture.

First type of evidence that we need is related to the recent survey, Although the magazine contends that respondents’ eating habits are more closely conform to governmental nutritional recommendations, this conclusion is too hasty, and we need further detail to confirm this survey. How many people have separately responded to these two surveys? It is fully possible that there were less than thirty people who answered to each survey. if it is this case, according to the research criterion, these two surveys can be proved. If the magazine can prove that both two survey has asked over thirty people, the conclusion that the magazine has presented is valid and supported. On contrast, we need to re-analyze citizens' eating habits.

Second type of evidence that the magazine fails to show is about the increase in sales of food products containing kiran. A single evidence of increase in sales is too scant to support the magazine's statement. We require other evidence to analyze more precisely the citizens' cholesterol. First is why citizens buy that much food products containing kiran? Maybe there are more citizens than ten years ago who suffer from the disease of over-cholesterol. They are recommended and forced to buy these products as their doctors demanded. Even if they are not suffering from that type of disease and/or they voluntarily buy food containing kiran, there is no evidence that they will eat them regularly. It is fully possible that they just buy them and put them in the corner of the kitchen and never eat them. Hence, if any of the above-mentioned supposition proved be true, the conclusion about citizens' more healthy eating habits is unsubstantiated.

Third type of evidence is about the reduced sales of sulia. Similarly, a simple evidence of reduced sales of sulia is not tenable and strong enough to suggest that citizens eat fewer unhealthy product today than ten years before, as we do not know whether sulia is the only unhealthy food products or not. Even though that citizens eat less sulia, there is no evidence can prove that they do not eat other unhealthy food, such as French fries, fried chickens, extremely sweet desserts. If any evidence proves that citizens replace sulia with another unhealthy products, then we cannot carry out the conclusion that people do have a healthier eating pattern. In contrast, the magazine's conclusion is buttressed.

In sum, although the magazine asserts that people today adopted more healthful lifestyles, the evidence that it presented is scant and unsubstantiated. Any evidence that can provide more details about the recent survey, the reason account for increasing sales of kiran and the reduced sales of sulia, can extremely support or weaken the magazine's conclusion.