In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future

With the accelerating development of technologies, human is at the edge of the third time of technological revolution, that of information. According to a research conducted by the Harvard University, a study present that the amount of information received by modern people within a month equals to the amount of information received by people of past during their whole life. In my opinion, the richness of information help people enormously in identifying careers and jobs which could lead to a successful future.

To begin with, how can we define a secure and successful life? In my opinion, whether a life is successful or not depends more on a person’s inner world and not on the opinions of other people. Doing what a person is good at makes him/her feel secure. Majoring in what a person is fascinating in and devoting himself/herself whole heartedly in this field gives the person a strong sense of accomplishment. Thus, to find the career which is more easily leading to success means to find a job which you are better at and fascinate about. To sum up, only after a thorough self-definition and self-understanding, can we identify a job which could lead to a secure and successful life.

In the past, the lack of information and the inconvenience in communication provided ordinary people very limited range of jobs and precluded them from choosing the field in which they were really good at. Due to the lack of information, only riches and nobles had access to education. Most people remained uninformed during their whole lives. They irritated a job from their ancestors and passed this job to their children. Take Black Smiths as an example. In the past, the family of Smiths casted iron from generation to generation and rarely changed jobs. As people in the past exposed to a very small range of jobs, we can hardly think that they have chosen the job after a thorough self-examination. I challenge the claim that people in the past have chosen their job actively rather than they were forced to work in this field. I also raise the question whether people in the past, who were rarely well-educated, developed fully their self-consciousness or not. It not so, they could not neither liberate their imagination, nor cast their talents during working. Thus, we cannot conclude that people in the past were easier to identify the career which would lead to a secure and successful life.

In a sharply contrast, people in today are more informed than people in the past because of the increasing advances of information technologies. Unlike students in the past, who had to travel thousands of miles to listen to Confucius’ lecture, students in today can read Socrates, Aristotle, Plato with his/her laptop. The easy access to the knowledge facilitates the process of self-discovering. A well-developed personality helps students to recognize their interests, find adequate jobs, or even creates new professions that do not exist before. Take the famous fashion blogger Chiara Ferragni as an example. A reportage of Coco Chanel attracts Chiara to the fashion world at a very young age. From university, she began to post daily wearing online and gained celebrity within her school. With the increasing number of followers, she came to realize that there are many girls like her fascinate about clothes and shoes. Thus, she abandoned her former major and devoted herself wholeheartedly in her fashion blog. Finally, Chiara gained a self-made success and opened a new business domain. Her experience is widely spread throughout Internet and encourages other girls to pursuit their dreams. The example of Chiara illustrates how information technology helps people to find their interests, chose the job on their personality and provides new starters huge opportunities to change the world.

In order to find the job in which we are more likely to succeed, we must understand our own very desires thoroughly and deeply. One way to self-define is to read, think, write and accumulate life experiences. In today, technology facilitates this process. However, in the past most people remained uninformed and rarely had chance to identify their own interest let alone to identify the job in which they can display their interest.