The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

One of the surest indicator of progress for a country is having efficacious leaders. Under effective leadership, a country can prosper in every way possible and reach the pinnacle of success. But no leader can be effective without taking care of the people he or she leads. According to the prompt, the effectiveness of a leader is determined by how well the common people are doing. I mostly agree with this idea for two main reasons.

Firstly, no leadership can remain stable for a long time without taking care of the people it leads. If common people are neglected, it becomes just a matter of time before the people subvert the leaders and choose a new one. We can see this happening in history several times. We can look at the French Revolution. In the 18th century, France was lead by the nobility who neglected its common people. People were dying in the street from hunger while the nobility held parties. History shows what happened next. French revolution not only overthrew the leadership headed by the nobility but also created a violent atmosphere where common people were killing nobles. This case of an ineffective leadership resulting from the negligence of the common people followed by being overthrown by the people is not very uncommon in history. Thus it can be said, if the well-being of the country's citizens is not taken care off, then the leadership of the country is not effective.

Moreover, just and conscientious leaders make the well being of the general people the priority. History elucidates us with numerous examples of such leaderships. Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, after the liberation war of 1971 in Bangladesh, made the common people's well-being the priority. He contacted various international sources and urged them to send relief for the then war-torn Bangladesh. He himself made sure people get the help they need. In doing so, he became the most venerated leader in the whole country's history. Similarly, we can see Abraham Lincoln, who realized the central problem of the people of his country, and deligitimized slavery. Under his leadership, the whole United States became torn from the civil war. But as he put the common people's benefit before the elite ones, he didn't hesitate to go on the war against slavery and eventually winning it. Thus, history shows us that, great leaders go at any length to make sure that his people are being taken care of.

One can argue that dictatorial leadership can often lead a nation in a very high position in the world. While the argument has some truth, history shows us that no nation is stable under such leaderships. We can look at Mongolia, united under Gengis Khan it captured a vast region of the world. But as Gengis was an imperialist who did not care about the common people, his empire periled after his death. A similar fate was faced by many of the other such nations including Hitler's Germany and Mussolini's Italy. Under autocratic leadership, people's betterment is often neglected and repudiated as unimportant. According to the history of the world, no nation had ever been in a good position under such leadership. Thus we can say, if the leaders of a country don't take care of the people, it is not effective.

Effectiveness of leadership in governing a country is very much dependent on the leader's compassion for the people he or she leads. Effective leaders can lead the country to the pinnacle of success.