The following appeared in a letter to the school board in the town of Centerville.

"All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville High School. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the letter to the school board, the author concludes that an effective solution to the problem caused by accidents involving teenage drives is to create an effective and mandatory driver's education course in the Centerville High School. However, to evaluate the argument presented by the author three pieces of evidence need to be provided.

First of all, evidence is needed for the claim that a driver's education course can make the students better drivers. The author assumes that, taking driver's education courses will make the teenage students better drivers, and thus reduce the aforementioned accidents. However, that may not be true. It is possible, that the students attending the course will only learn the rudimentary of driving and will not develop the skilles found in an experienced driver. Their condition may not improve at all because of the nature of driving as a skill. If the above is true, the author's argument becomes invalid, and so, we need evidence regarding this issue.

Secondly, evidence is needed to support author's assumption that the teenagers involved in the accidents are in fact students of Centerville High School. Perhaps, those teenagers are not students of Centerville High School but some other school in the town. Furthermore, those teenagers may not live in Centerville at all, they might have visited Centerville for some other reasons like staying at relatives' houses during vacation. If either has merit, then the author's conclusion becomes faulty at best and at worst specious. So, we need evidence regarding the studentship of the teenagers involved in the accidents mentioned.

Finally, the author is assuming that the accidents occurred because of the lack of skills of the teenagers. But this assumption needs to be substantiated by evidence. It is entirely possible that the involved teenagers were not at fault. May be the car had some mechanical problem. May be some other incompetent parties were involved. Without knowing about the nature and the parties involved in those accidents, it is not possible to say without doubt that the teenagers were the reasons. So, evidence is needed to evaluate if the teenagers involved were, in fact, at fault.

In conclusion, it is entirely possible that, the creating an effective and mandatory programs will resolve the problems of accidents involving teenagers in Centerville. But, the author's argument, as it stands now, needs evidence in three fronts to support its claim that render the conclusion of the author unpersuasive at best and specious at worst. Thus, the author needs to provide evidence for the following three claims: driver's education course makes better drivers, teenagers involved in the accidents were students of the Centerville High School, and the teenagers involved were the reasons for the accidents.