In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should be required to step down after five years.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

In any field, change in leadership can bring change in the whole environment. When should a leader step down from his or her power to give way to new leadership? Should leadership change with time? Or should it change only if the leader involved fail to lead? This is not a trivial matter. In my opinion, those in power should only be required to step down, if they are found incompetent, regardless of the time period they are in power. An experienced leader is almost always preferable and often, longer projects need stability in leadership.

While it is true that sometimes new leadership can engender results much more quickly by looking at things from different angles, an experienced leader knows the best in the corresponding field. This is why some countries in the world required a change in the Presidency after a fixed period of time. For example, in the United States, a single person cannot be the President for more than 8 years at stretch. But this policy would be a problem, if there is any long term project going on that would require more than 8 years. May be the new President will not be genial to the project as the last one and so, he or she may cancel the project altogether, resulting in a waste of money and time. This may happen especially, if there is disagreement between the previous and current incumbent. Similar scenarios are possible in every field of endeavors.

Experience is precious. So, if new leadership is required only after 5 years, it is a waste of the previous leader's experience. As a leader earn more experience, he or she can become more efficient in his or her job. A new leader will need a similar amount of time to gain the grasp of things like the previous leader. A policy that would require a change in leadership will result in at best an inefficient use of experience, assuming older leaders can again be elected, or at worst, an utter waste of precious experience. Such change can also disturb the morale of the followers. We can look at the company Apple. When Steve Jobs was forced to leave his own company, under new leadership the company faltered. But when he was brought back, the company stood back on its feet again. So, the policy in the prompt can severely lessen the effectiveness of leadership.

Long term projects need long dedication and an unchanging environment to succeed. But in a leadership system, where those in powers are required to step down after 5 years, such dedication and environment may hardly be found. Newer leaders may not see the value of the work of the previous leaders in the same way. They may cancel the whole project resulting in a waste of resources. Any successful long-term work needs steady leadership. We can look at the companies -- Google, Amazon, Microsoft, etc. All of these are successful companies, and were under constant leadership until their potentials were realized, while companies like Yahoo failed to reach their full potential because of such vacillation in leadership. Thus, to maintain steady progress for longer projects, the prompt's policy should not be implemented.

Experience is one of the most important attributes of a leader in any field. Frequent vacillation in power can result in ineffectiveness at best and waste at worst. So, those in power should not be required to step down based on the time period.