Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In this modern age, it is almost impossible to state with certainty what will effect a person's life or not. Researchers have shown that most of the time, unrelated events do not play a significant role in a person's life and thereby, the person may not need to pay much heed to those events. However, I believe it is not possible for a person to know beforehand what event can play a significant role in his or her life. So, people should have knowledge of events occurring all over the world. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, people are not omniscient, they cannot know beforehand what event will affect their life or not. If people learn about the current affairs around the world, they may be able to estimate which of the events may play an important role in their life and can plan accordingly. It is especially true if the forthcoming effect is negative. People can often prepare themselves to face these and as a result may mitigate the damages. In the absence of such precaution, the result might be often devastating. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. I used to work with a small oil company. The company's owner had good judgment and he used to keep tabs on global events. I knew that one of my friend's dad owns an oil company. But being old-fashioned, he was not much adept at paying attention to global events. As a result, when there was a treaty signed between major oil corporations and some of the world's biggest oil exporting counties, we immediately knew that oil price would go up and bought as much oil as possible to avoid future losses. But my friend's father didn't know about the event and knew only after the oil price had already risen. As a result, they suffered severe loss in their business, while the company I worked for thrived. From this I learned the value of paying attention to current events.

Secondly, more knowledge comes with more opportunities. People might not know what opportunities are available in the world without knowing what events are taking place around the world.

In conclusion, the issue of whether people should pay heed to current world events is a complex issue with people on both sides. But as people cannot know what will affect their life before it start affecting, they should pay attention to the occurrences around the world. Also, by paying heed to the current events, they may be able to help out people in need and find opportunities which would have otherwise gone unnoticed.