It is important to know about events happening around the world, even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life.

With the technology innovation, human beings have broken the limitation of geological distance, and tightened the connection of people all over the world. Therefore, in my point of view, I strongly agree that it is essential for us to be aware of events happening around the world, even if they don't seem to be related to us for two reasons.

First of all, since we all live on earth no matter which part of it, it is very likely that one event occurring in one country will happen in other country. In this way, if we can care and learn about the occurrence of this event in the other country, we can gain experience from them to cope with it. For instance, since Japan encounters earthquakes frequently, it is very advanced in setting up the standard operation process when an earthquake hits. Therefore, when 311 Eastern Japan Earthquake happened, the media in Taiwan focused not only how severe the disaster was, but also how mature and efficient their disaster response system was. With this learning experience, Taiwan government has gained the opportunity to review and improve the current disaster response process, and it turned out to be a great success proved by a far faster recovery from an earthquake happening last year comparing to the past. Consequently, this example clear illustrates the significance of knowing the events occurrence around the world so to gain experience from them.

Furthermore, it is not too exaggerated to say that we are all living in a global community that one single event in a country may result in a great impact or indicate an important message to the whole world. This is to say, even if the events are not affecting our daily lives right here right now, it doesn't mean that they have no impact on us. For example, the serious forest fire in Australia does not physically affect me, who is located in the northern part of the world. Nevertheless, this event is a severe result of global warming which will impact everyone on the earth some day. It delivers a serious warning that the earth is significantly harmed by human pollution, and we need to stop it as soon as possible if we want to prevent the event happening in Australia from happening in the future. This example demonstrates an event that happens tens of thousands of kilometers away from me, and does not affect my daily life indeed. However, it delivers a significant message to the whole world from the one and only planet that we live on. Therefore, even if the forest fire in Australia seems nothing to do with me now, if we humans don’t do something to stop global warming, this kind of event may happen again in the future and maybe just right in front of us.

In conclusion, based on the two reasons above, I am with the statement that people should all be aware of events happening around the world even if they don’t seem to affect our daily lives for now. For one reason, we can learn from the events and react better if the similar events happen around us in the future. For another, the events may sometimes seem far away from us but contain important message and warning that we all need to be aware of and take actions.