Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Laws are rules made by a certain society. One must abide by these laws if they are to live in that society. The prompt recommends that laws should not be rigid but be accommodating of various circumstances, times, and places. I mostly agree with the recommendation because different times need different laws and multicultural societies need laws that need to take account of the variety of people living in those societies.

While laws should be modifiable in most of the circumstances, some specific cases may differ. Especially, when there is no law in society. In total anarchy, rigid law is better than no law. For example, after the war was over in Vietnam, Bangladesh, etc countries, no nationwide law was created overnight. The only thing that stopped the anarchy from rising, is the regional and cultural law system existing in those areas. While these laws are not applicable to a wide variety of people and certainly not applicable for all circumstances, they at provided the temporary support to keep peace in those societies. Similar issues may occur anywhere in the world and such rigid laws may still play the role of keeper of the peace. But as those laws don't encompass all situations, times, or places, they are not applicable when a society becomes stable. A stable society needs flexible laws that are multifaceted and can be applied even if times, circumstances and places change.

As time progresses, generations change. Each generation has its own moral and social values and ideas of right and wrong. But laws should not be made in a way that applies to one generation but fails to take into considerations of another generation. Such laws most of the time doesn't stay for a longer time. We can look at the American constitution for example of such a law. During the pre-civil war America, slavery was legal. But as time passed, people's view on slavery changed and such change engendered the Civil War in America. After the Civil War, the 13th Amendment was created to abolish slavery. This law is an epitome of flexible law that takes into considerations of all accounts. Laws should be like the 13th Amendment, applicable for all time and circumstances.

Globalization has transformed the world into a global village. High-speed transportation made it possible to be at one end of the world in the morning and at another end in the evening. As a result, most of the societies around the world today are cosmopolitan and have people from all around the world. As a result, laws cannot just take into account of the local people, but foreigners too. Laws should not be such that, it allows one culture to flourish while shunning another one. It has to accept every culture equally. We can look at the European Union for such an example of laws. After the EU was created, people living in those countries needed some common laws that can be applied to every country under EU. Similarly, in an age of globalization, we need laws that can account for all such diversities among people.

In a multicultural society, laws that are created taking considerations of only a fraction of the people are not valid. For a progressive society, multifaceted laws should be created taking into account its multifarious population.