Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is debatable whether keen judgment is of little value in every field if it is coming from a novice. Even though ideas of people with a lot of experience are highly valued, views of non-experts also has values that can have positive impacts.

To begin with, even neophytes often lack in deep knowledge and experience of a certain field, if they have solid points and insights, their judgments can have immense impacts. Fresh eyes and perspectives can oftentimes regarded more potent than ideas that are tried and trusted; it is more so in fields highly related with creativity. In fields that value novelty as one of the top qualities, views of tyros can be inspiring to many people. Take a super model Twiggy as an example. When she first had her debut, her style and presentation of herself was not conventional. She had a pixie-cut hair, skinny body, and wore slim clothes, all of which were against the mainstream. However, people loved her looks because of their originality, and Twiggy soon became one of the most influential models worldwide; she is still an insipiring figure to fashion people in this day and age. Had judgments of novices were considered to have little values, as the statement contends, Twiggy's unconventional idea would not have received so much fame. Since fashion field valued creativity a lot, her attempt could become successful.

Moreover, anybody's judgment has intrinsic values even when they are not experts because seasoned people are not aware of every detail and possibilites related to their fields. Keen judgments from other people can help in expansion of perspectives, thus facilitating expansion of a certain field. People with a lot of experiences are often so immersed in that field, and they are often too specific, which in turn, narrow-minded. Incorporation of ideas is healthy. In politics, government officers should investigate what ordinary people's judgments are because although ordinary people do not possess expertise in politics, opinions from them are coming from real life experience. Also, companies outght to care and research their customer's reviews; a myriad of customers do not have much knowledge of a certain product, but their ideas are valuable since they have insightful inputs that are critically related to increase of sales. Therefore, critical judgments coming from neophytes can be imperative because experts cannot know everything of their field.

Admittedly, ideas of people with a lot of knowledge can be more in depth owing to their accumulated knowledge. In fields like medicine and astronomy, accrued knowledge is very valuable, which many times overrides originality and ordinary reviews. However, overreliance on experts is not healthy. Even in those fields, people should be open minded of ideas coming from tyros since collaboration of experience and novelty can have synergic effect that outweighs the intrinsic value of expertise alone.

All in all, because of aforementioned reasons, the given statement is not valid. Taking either of the extreme sides can yield detriments. Mix and collaboration of ideas of experts and non-experts are ideal.