In order for any work of art-for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song--to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

It is debatable whether to have much merits, a piece of art should be apprehensible to most people. I assert that a piece of art does not have to comprehensible to a number of people to have positive influence for several reasons.

To begin with, it not a valid argument that for a film, literary works, and music to have positive impactc, they ought to be comprehensible to many people. Depending on social millieu, some incredible work or art is considered worthless and even harshly criticized by experts. However, it is not reasonable to regard those art works unbeneficial. Take El Grego, a prominent spanish painter in 16th century for example. He is a pioneer of dramatic expressionism; his works are featured as charismatic and bold. Unfortunately, Grego's art pieces are lowly valued during his time, and most of his art works were disdained by his contemporary artists and critics since his pieces did not fit in the mainstream trend at that time. People valued realistic pieces highly, and they had difficult time apprehending Grego's art; nevertheless, in 20th century, Grego's art works were reevaluated, which shifted his status as one of the most influential artists of all time. This example elucidates that depending on varying situations, a work of art can be deemed either worthless or invaluable; therefore, the criteria the statement insists is not a valid standards when evaluating value of a piece of art.

Moreover, some art works are simply made difficult to comprehend owing to their much sophistication. Films, novels, poems, and music that exploits unfamilar skills, words, and topic, or works that are intricate in nature could seem hard for ordinary people to approach regardless of their values. Classical music, for instance, are deemed beautiful in sounds and to be possessing high value by experts, are often not easy for many people to apprehend. Compositions of Vivaldi, Beethoven, and Mozart are famous and of high demand for the longest time, but if their works are easily understandable is questionable. Their enduring fame is not built on how easily accessible they are, but their elegance of melodies and coherent sound of thier pieces. Had those musicians only considered popularity followed by easy comprehension, their compositions would not have endured for centuries.

Admittedly, however, there are still some advantages in works that are comprehensible to most people. For instance, may people sympathize with Taylor Swifts' love songs and their lyrics and genuinely enjoy her songs. It is, nonetheless, difficult to portrait that those songs have values that will last for centuries. Even though popular songs that are understood by many people, fade away eventually and more rapidly than ever nowadays. Thus, I disagree with the given statement.

All in all, it is not a cogent notion that in order for any work of art to be have benefits, many people should be able to comprehend it.