Claim: When planning courses, educators should take into account the interests and suggestions of their students.

Reason: Students are more motivated to learn when they are interested in what they are studying.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

It is debatable whether educator ought to consider the interests and suggestions of their students in their couses to increase students' motivation. Although it would be admirable if the students' opinions are reflected in their learning courses, many times, that factor has to be compromised because of several reasons.

To begin with, educators, in many situations, simply cannot take into account the interests and suggestions their students; it is sometimes impossible for students to show their interests. There are many situational factors such as age, culture, and disability attributed to this. If general age of the students are very young, effective feedbacks cannot take place. Most of them would not be motivated to learn anything, which is not a helpful suggestion for educators. Also, if culture of that particular society prevents students from expressing their honest opinions, it would be difficult for educators to collect accurate reviews of a course from their students. Moreover, if a certain course is for students with disabilities like special education, it would be more productive for educators to create their curriculums based on popular theories, methods, and their own empirical information because it is most probable that students with disabilities will not be able to express their opinions especially if they have psychological disorders. If educators were to plan their curriculum based on reviews from their students in those cases, their courses will become disorganized at best.

Moreover, fundamental courses that are very important to learn must be included regardless of the interests and suggestions of students. Courses like history, math, literature, physical education, and morality have to be included in school curriculum. A lot of students do not enjoy those courses, but there will be huge detriments if those courses become eliminated or optional because of low preference of students. Those courses are crucial since they provide basis for next level education and basis to become a productive worker in a society. Educators will have to find other ways to increase students' motivation in those courses instead of changing the curriculum. Many of those courses are boring, but mandatory because of substantial reasons.

Admittedly, in special cases, interests and suggestions can be the primary objective of the course. For example courses related to hobbies and entertainment will be comprised of interests of students. The nature of those courses are usually for fun, thus motivating students is indispensable. However, even in those classes, some parts could be boring, but crucial, which ought to be included. More importantly, these exceptios cannot be generalized.

All in all, because of aforementioned reasons, educators should not take interests and suggestions of their students in many courses even at the expense of high motivation of students.