The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals. "In a controlled laboratory study of liquid hand soaps, a concentrated solution of extra strength UltraClean hand soap produced a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria than did the liquid hand soaps currently used in our hospitals. During our recent test of regular-strength UltraClean with doctors, nurses, and visitors at our hospital in Worktown, the hospital reported significantly fewer cases of patient infection (a 20 percent reduction) than did any of the other hospitals in our group. Therefore, to prevent serious patient infections, we should supply UltraClean at all hand-washing stations, including those used by visitors, throughout our hospital system.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The director of a large group of hospitals contends that implementation of UltraClean soap is required in all of the hospitals to prevent serious patient infections. The argument seems axiomatic, but it includes several flaws in its assumptions.

First, the director cites data from a study conducted in a controlled laboratory. The director conjectures that data from a controlled setting will be well applied in real world. However, there is no information in which explains the resemblance of the controlled environment with the reality. If settings are found to be significantly different, the outcome from the controlled laboratory, a 40 percent greater reduction in harmful bacteria with extra strength UltraClean hand soap, could not exactly tell the same result will occur outside of the controlled setting. Thus, the author needs to provide more information on the resemblance of the controlled setting with real world in order to strengthen the claim.

Second, the author assumes that the recent test of regular-strength UltraClean in a hospital in Worktown is representative of the entire hospital system. From this recent test, regular-strength UltraClean hand soap does seem effective in reducing infections. Nevertheless, it is far-fetched to conclude that a single hospital will accurately represent the entire hospitals. There are a lot of confounding variables that could have contributed to this particular outcome; test results of regular-strength UltraClean products could be very different from results from a hospital in Worktown. Without showing proof of alienation of confounding variables and information that a hospital in Worktown can fully represent the whole, the author's argument remains unconvincing.

Third, even if the director proves the representativeness of the hospital in Worktown, the longevity of the report is needed. The test results of the hand soap could be aberrations, which means, there could be other results in other period of time. The director needs to provide longitudinal data of accurately test the efficacy of the regular-strength UltraClean hand soap.

Last, even if the recent test is an outcome of a test that has been conducted for an extended period of time, the author still supposes that character of people in a hospital in Worktown will be same as features of people in the other hospitals. People in the hospital in Worktown could be more prone to not reporting patient infections because they have less rigid criteria. Also, it could be that people in the other hospitals are more fickle and more responsive to infections. It could also be that the hospitals encouraged more for their people to report even minor patient infection which could have contributed to such result. Without providing information of the conditions of each hospitals, the author cannot assume that conditions and characteristics of people in the hospital in Worktown and the other hospitals will be the same.

All in all, the director's argument is not cogent. To strengthen the claim, the director needs to provide information ont he resemblance of the controlled setting with real world, the degree of representativeness of the hospital in Worktown, longitudinal data of the recent study, and intensive investigation of conditions of people in the hospital in Worktown and the other hospitals.