The most effective way to understand contemporary culture is to analyze the trends of its youth.

Youth culture seems to be a prevailing culture in this day and age. It is debatable whether the most effective means to comprehend modern culture is to assess the trends of its youth. There are, however, many flaws in this method for several reasons.

To begin with, the trends of youth only have a minor contribution to the entire culture of a society. It will be an extremely arduous task to provide comprehensive depiction of culture nowdays only with youth culture. For example, drunk makeup was a popular youth trend in Japan for a while. Nevertheless, such makeup style was only done by a few youths which do not effectively represent the entire population. Also, currently widespread music trends like hip hop and electronic music are only demanded upon some youths, and the rest of the population do not care about such trend. On the other hand, musicals and operas represent more accurately of current culture with its plots and performances styles, but not much youths can enjoy such show due to costly ticket fees. Therefore, youth culture has a lot of limits regarding manifesting accurately of culture in this day and age.

Moreover, as longevity of life has been extended, trends of older people are becoming more influential. It is usually thought that youths are more involved in entertaining activities; nonetheless, with increase of older people, such notion has shifted. Golf culture, health related culture like sauna and herbal teas, and living culture have all impacted immensely by people who are not members of youth. In addition, renowned Korean television program, I live alone, features celebrities of 30s to 60s who live alone and can afford to live alone. Before, media mainly featured trends of youth, but with the increase of life expectancy, older people enjoy their lives more, thus having much more influence on the entire society. Therefore, deep apprehension of culture of all ages is needed especially in modern days.

Admittedly, in many cases, youth culture seems more trendy and new. However, in fact, youth, most of the times, are only emulating trends of its upper generation. With limited resources and experiences, youth culture is bounded with a lot of limitation; therefore, analysis of youth culture is insufficient in drawing wholesome picture of contemporary culture.

All in all, because of aforementioned reasons, youth trends fail to illustrate modern culture accurately. In order to have a comprehensive idea of culture of these days, more stratefied wherewithal should be employed.