Some people believe it is often necessary, even desirable for political leaders to withhold information from the public. Others believe that public has a right to be fully informed.

Indisputably, eyes of the public put pressure on political leaders to avoid unethical actions with their power. However, it is also important for people to have trust for their government for a nation to function well. Thus, I generally agree with the opinion that it is desirable for political leaders to withhold certain information to keep their people to trust the government.

Admittedly, people should have an access to investigate what their political leaders do. Consider the Watergate Scandal as an example. When President Nixon faced allegations that he had been associated with eavesdropping, he strongly refused all the allegations. However, people raised suspicion on him and eventually Nixon resigned from presidency. This example illustrates how disclosing what activities political leaders do helped restoring the freedom of people. However, not all cases of disclosing political activities are beneficial to people.

While surveillancing the government makes sure its officials avoid unethical activities, it may also harmful effects on the people. In today’s Western democratic societies, being involved with political issues is quarrelsome and stressful. As much as scandals of political leaders we encounter on news, we tend to lose interest in discussing political issues and avoid any possible hatred from others with different opinions. Such indifference decreases public participation in local government. This phenomenon has a detrimental effect of centralizing the administration. When we centralize administration from California to New Jersey, we lose rights to protect our customs. For instance, if the centralized government proposes a new policy to prevent street fairs, some regions may welcome it. On the other hand, some cities, like Oakland, with rich history with street fairs, would suffer from losing its local culture.

Disclosing too much flaws of political leaders does not only lead to indifference to political issues but also a chaos in emergency. Take the 2014-2016 Ebola outbreak in Liberia as an example. When the Ebola outbreak began in West Africa, Liberia lost more than 4,000 people due to Ebola while Mali, a neighboring country, lost only 6 people. One of the confounding factors that had contributed to the catastrophe that Liberia had was due to mistrust of the government. When the president of Liberia made an announcement to call government officials to immediately return to Liberia, many refused to return because they did not trust that their government can protect them from Ebola. On the other hand, the citizens did not follow hygiene recommendations that the government urged due to mistrust. Though it is important for Liberians to know what their political leaders do, they lost trust to cooperate and follow directions to survive through the epidemic. As this example illustrates, exposing too much political activities to the public may cause a deep mistrust of the government and hinders efficient response of the government for its people.

In conclusion, although disclosure of political activities are essential to keep politicians not to abuse their power, we must be aware that it has detrimental effects on the other side. It may lead to the indifference and mistrust of people to their government.