Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies—Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. Furthermore, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Such data indicate that we should use Zeta rather than Alpha for our contemplated new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs."

The author concludes that his or her company must use Zeta to construct a new building instead of Alpha. To support this claim, the author explains that the building’s expenses for maintenance were lower when built by Zeta than Alpha. However, this argument is unpersuasive to me since it relied on several weak assumptions that are defective in a logical aspect and provides inadequate information to properly assess the argument.

First, the author hastily assumes that the fact that Zeta’s building had lower maintenance expenses and energy consumptions than Alpha’s makes Zeta superior t...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.