Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.

College students are often torn between what is means to truly invest in themselves and what is a more tangibly secure financial road. Along with a bad economy, it is often difficult to pursue the study that one is passionate about because the study may not have a promising outlook for finding a job. However, I believe that students must consider their own talents and interest when choosing a field of study if the students have adequately explored their interests and talent and

Admittedly, many students can benefit from choosing a major that eases the job finding process. We cannot deny the fact that there are certain majors with better job outlook and salary than others. In my college, for instance, most freshmen wish to major in computer science because growing technology industry still hires a lot of students who major in computer science. When I talk to some of the students who pursue studying in computer science, I am often surprised how some used to have other interests and talents in other fields, such as music and literary arts. Some of them switched their majors from non-science studies to computer science because they were anxious of not getting jobs as they approach graduation. As a result, some of them successfully find jobs in the field that they frankly were not passionate about or talented at. Yet, we cannot overlook the fact that there are many students who do not know what they are interested in or talented at. They often choose the majors that can guarantee jobs relatively better than other majors and somehow become satisfied due to financial security.

However, in terms of quality of life, many may regret their choice of majoring in the field that they had no interest or talent at. With growing competitions in such popular fields, such as computer science and business, exceptional talents and performance levels are required to survive and grow in the industry. With mediocre or average talents, it is sometimes difficult to even maintain the position. Second, low interest level in the field of study cannot constantly motivate people to spontaneously develop and learn the subject. Instead, financial security becomes the only source that forces one to continue working. In this case, one’s quality of life drops significantly as he or she is committed to work in the field just to survive, not to enrich and develop oneself. Thus, the optimal solution for the students would be to explore their interests and talents as much as they can and consider multiple fields of studies that may suit them well. Furthermore, they must take an extra step to research about relevant jobs to the fields that they chose. As an example, there is the case of my sister. She had talents in drawing and enjoyed it very much to the point that she knows drawing is what she wants to do in the future. Though there is not many job positions for art majors, she had researched some positions that suit her interests and are financially secure to pursue. Currently, she works as a web designer at Pixar. After thorough research about her interests and job market, she successfully managed to handle multiple desires: to do what she enjoys and to achieve financial security.

In sum, choosing a field of study that one has a talent or interest still has more perks than a field of study that promises job security if one understands his or her passion and researches about its relevant job market.